Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Aug 30, 2014 10:23 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 9:53 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
maxx wrote:
It's not about saving money, it's about avoiding a waste of money... that's why I always try before I buy, if the game can keep me entertained for three-four levels, it's worth buying. Demos my ass, they're always too short, and you cant really see if the game gets too repetitive after few levels, so demos don't do it for me. However, in this case, I bought even before I tried, but I just didn't want to wait few more days...
youve got a very good point, but i find if i download software i wont buy it. with music ill usually buy what i download but with software its much more expensive so i dont.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 11:54 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 10:41 pm
Posts: 19
how do converte the bin to iso just rename it at the command prompt or?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 1:13 pm 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 7:30 pm
Posts: 1691
Location: Houston Texas
after this im either gettin ut 2004 or just saving up.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 1:26 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 325
Location: Nowhere, USA
turbospeed wrote:
how do converte the bin to iso just rename it at the command prompt or?


Hmm, why do you ask?

If you have a program that will read an ISO file, then it should work with BIN files. I think....Its been awhile.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 3:03 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 10:41 pm
Posts: 19
well alomost all accept iso but not even enro accepts .bin


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 6:48 am 
M-Powered
M-Powered
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:36 am
Posts: 2504
Location: Nürburgring
turbospeed wrote:
how do converte the bin to iso just rename it at the command prompt or?


No it must be converted, I use WinISO.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 12:05 am 
Sharptooth
Sharptooth
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 4:29 am
Posts: 379
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Jipstyle wrote:
Not that any of us would pirate a game from one of the few GREAT game companies just to save a few pennies.

Right?

RIGHT?


5,500 pennies, to be exact. More after tax.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 12:16 am 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:14 pm
Posts: 2108
Location: I'm Not sure
turbospeed wrote:
how do converte the bin to iso just rename it at the command prompt or?


just use daemon tools to mount it


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 9:58 am 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 9:06 pm
Posts: 1508
Location: Mother/Daughterboard Orgy
maxx wrote:
It's not about saving money, it's about avoiding a waste of money... that's why I always try before I buy, if the game can keep me entertained for three-four levels, it's worth buying. Demos my ass, they're always too short, and you cant really see if the game gets too repetitive after few levels, so demos don't do it for me. However, in this case, I bought even before I tried, but I just didn't want to wait few more days...


The HL demo was good... seemed to fully explorer what the game had to offer and it was impressive at the time, IMO.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 2:33 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:34 pm
Posts: 1182
Location: So Cal
homelessboy wrote:
"despite the 1.5G size".......
not that HL2 trailer i downloaded is almost 600MB. i am not encouraging downloading pirated games but how could a 6CD game be only 1.5G?


its not 6 cds, its 3


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 9:12 am 
Team Badger
Team Badger
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 9:14 am
Posts: 2679
Location: Center of the Universe
Alchohol 120% is much better than Daemon


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 4:29 pm 
Astro lube 2 the MAX!
Astro lube 2 the MAX!
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 762
Location: Newton, KS
Hell yea. Too bad I heard something about them getting shut down. :(


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 8:14 pm 
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 9:42 am
Posts: 2262
Location: Michigan
Its amazing how fast it was leaked out. I dont know how early exactly, but friends of mine had it 3 days before its release day. Full working version with cd cracks and multiplayers cracks. It got past around the LAN party this weekend like a $2 hooker.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 11:38 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 11:32 pm
Posts: 2555
Location: Somewhere between compilation and linking
ricksickle wrote:
Its amazing how fast it was leaked out. I dont know how early exactly, but friends of mine had it 3 days before its release day. Full working version with cd cracks and multiplayers cracks. It got past around the LAN party this weekend like a $2 hooker.

What is also amazing is that the average pc game costs somewhere between one and three million to develop, but typically employs about two bits worth of copy protection. Of course, this appears to be an inside job as the game was leaked before the release.

Yet another reason to not work as a game developer.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 7:20 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 106
Location: iowa
niterider wrote:
And is anybody surprised? :?

I'd type more, but I'm playing my legit copy of Doom 3. (just taking a short break)

And some were complaining about the cost. I wonder why it cost so much.... :roll:


well it costs so much, because so many people pirated it and downloaded it off tha internet for free, so the company has to make money somehow


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 7:30 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 11:32 pm
Posts: 2555
Location: Somewhere between compilation and linking
Jameschoun wrote:
niterider wrote:
And is anybody surprised? :?

I'd type more, but I'm playing my legit copy of Doom 3. (just taking a short break)

And some were complaining about the cost. I wonder why it cost so much.... :roll:


well it costs so much, because so many people pirated it and downloaded it off tha internet for free, so the company has to make money somehow

Well, I meant the cost to create the game, not the consumers purchase price. It cost Id over $12 million dollars to create Doom 3.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 6:20 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 106
Location: iowa
oh misunderstood, but yeah they said that this was one of the most expensive games to create


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 9:19 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 12:24 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Texas
I used the DL'd version as a demo. I knew that if I liked it I would buy it, but I needed to make certain that I liked the game before I bought it. I'll do the same thing whenever Battlefield 2 comes out. I went straight out and bought BF: Vietnam and now, a few months after it's release I can't stand it. I bought it because BF:1942 was IMO such an awesome game that 'Nam couldn't do anything but improve on it, I was wrong......
So when BF:2 is released, I'll DL it to playtest it and once I find out if I like it, I'll buy it. That is, unless a demo is released. BTW, I bought my UNPIRATED copy of Doom3 last Wednesday and haven't played much else since.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 11:08 am 
Team Badger
Team Badger
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 9:14 am
Posts: 2679
Location: Center of the Universe
Jameschoun wrote:
niterider wrote:
And is anybody surprised? :?

I'd type more, but I'm playing my legit copy of Doom 3. (just taking a short break)

And some were complaining about the cost. I wonder why it cost so much.... :roll:


well it costs so much, because so many people pirated it and downloaded it off tha internet for free, so the company has to make money somehow


Before basically any software piracy games cost as much as they do know to buy. it hasn't affected the price.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 11:18 am 
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 9:42 am
Posts: 2262
Location: Michigan
Quote:
Before basically any software piracy games cost as much as they do know to buy. it hasn't affected the price.



What the hell is that....lol I had to read that 10 times to get it right. Next time you get done playin Doom 3 for 5 hours strait, wait 10 minutes before you try and type :D


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group