Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 2:57 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Doom 3
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 1:01 pm 
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 9:42 am
Posts: 2262
Location: Michigan
Doom 3 rocks!! Graphics are intense!!!! Cant wait to play with the vid settings and see what it can really do!! Ah, thats much better, had to tell someone....


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 1:47 pm 
M-Powered
M-Powered
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:36 am
Posts: 2504
Location: Nürburgring
benchmark your system, type this at the console: timedemo demo1.demo
(in case you dont know, you have to press alt+ctrl+~ to brind down the console, or you can create an autoexec.cfg file and put this in: seta com_allowconsole 1)

I got:

39.8 FPS (1600x1200 High Quality, 8XAF, noFSAA)
42.4 FPS (1280x1024 High Quality, 8XAF, 2XFSAA)
49.0 FPS (1024x768 High Quality, 8XAF, 4XFSAA)
55.5 FPS (800x600 High Quality, 8XAF, 4XFSAA)
60.0 FPS (800x600 Medium Quality, no AF/FSAA)

The game is capped at 60FPS, and with high quality, 8XAF is set automatically... It's best to let the application handle FSAA and AF.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 1:56 pm 
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 9:42 am
Posts: 2262
Location: Michigan
I will get that done after I clean out the rig and post the results : )


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 8:19 pm 
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 9:42 am
Posts: 2262
Location: Michigan
I just ran my test:
1024x768 High Quality
30.0 FPS


XP 2600+
1x 512 3200 Mushkin
Biostar M7NCG 400
ATI 9600xt 600/528
80gig WD 8mb Cache
XP Pro


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 3:55 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:33 pm
Posts: 1294
Location: Georgia Tech
omg, I'm shitting myself.... it's so fucking scary!!!

I can't wait to go back and play this on my desktop.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 4:42 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
maxx wrote:
benchmark your system, type this at the console: timedemo demo1.demo
(in case you dont know, you have to press alt+ctrl+~ to brind down the console, or you can create an autoexec.cfg file and put this in: seta com_allowconsole 1)

I got:

39.8 FPS (1600x1200 High Quality, 8XAF, noFSAA)
42.4 FPS (1280x1024 High Quality, 8XAF, 2XFSAA)
49.0 FPS (1024x768 High Quality, 8XAF, 4XFSAA)
55.5 FPS (800x600 High Quality, 8XAF, 4XFSAA)
60.0 FPS (800x600 Medium Quality, no AF/FSAA)

The game is capped at 60FPS, and with high quality, 8XAF is set automatically... It's best to let the application handle FSAA and AF.
damn dude, what vid card are you running, those are really good scores.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 6:57 pm 
M-Powered
M-Powered
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:36 am
Posts: 2504
Location: Nürburgring
My gaming rig has:

Northwood at 4.0 GHz
Asus P4C800-E DX
1GB of DDR550 RAM
BFG 6800GT OC
Windows 2003 Server.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 7:58 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
maxx wrote:
My gaming rig has:

Northwood at 4.0 GHz
Asus P4C800-E DX
1GB of DDR550 RAM
BFG 6800GT OC
Windows 2003 Server.
damn, that could be why your scores are so good then :wink:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 9:45 pm 
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
Phoenix Foundation (Top 10)
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 9:42 am
Posts: 2262
Location: Michigan
Just got out of the game, and yes, shitting my pants is a good way to describe it. And thats in the first 15 minutes of gameplay. I cant wait to turn off the lights and crank of the 600w surround sound system...hehe

BTW, someone told me i couldnt run the game at Ultra Settings on 1024x768 cuz it would crash. Just thought Id mention, I played it at those settings for about 10 minutes. It jerked a little when doors opened or someone jumped out at me, but i smoothed right back out after the initial action. This was an Intel guy at 3.4 with a 9800 and 1gig that told me this. He said his crashes, so mine wouldnt do it, lol. Proved him wrong!

2600+
1x 512 3200
9600xt
WD 8mb cache
Biostar M7NCG 400


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 9:59 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:10 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Houghton, MI (Michigan Technological University)
so there is a higher quality setting than high, i was wondering this. my 6800 should be able to handle it if your 9600xt can.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 1:46 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 9:08 pm
Posts: 80
29 FPS the first time (includes texture loading hitch)
640x480, high quality plus 4xAA

On my shuttle PC / HDTV setup. Radeon AIW 9800... etc etc other specs I stopped caring about when PC's hit 2ghz

and I'm running 640x480 beause Doom3 does not correctly support widescreen modes (1152x648 is my desktop rez).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 2:33 pm 
M-Powered
M-Powered
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:36 am
Posts: 2504
Location: Nürburgring
Karl the Pagan wrote:
I'm running 640x480 beause Doom3 does not correctly support widescreen modes (1152x648 is my desktop rez).

Sure it does:

r_mode "-1"
r_customHeight "648"
r_customWidth "1152"

Works fine with my D-ILA projector at 1400x1050.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 4:12 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 9:08 pm
Posts: 80
maxx wrote:
Karl the Pagan wrote:
I'm running 640x480 beause Doom3 does not correctly support widescreen modes (1152x648 is my desktop rez).

Sure it does:
Works fine with my D-ILA projector at 1400x1050.


Been over that at [T]ard OCP forums... The resolution is fine but it's stretched. g_fov 110 helps *slightly* but then it's fisheyed and still not quite right when you look up & down.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 10:41 pm 
Team Badger
Team Badger
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 9:14 am
Posts: 2679
Location: Center of the Universe
I demand a System Shock 2 Mod


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.