Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Sep 22, 2014 3:47 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: some DX 11 games running at low res
PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:12 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:09 pm
Posts: 1
Hello,

I've been having a problem where certain games, when run in DirectX 11 (but NOT DirectX 9), set themselves to a very low, unacceptable resolution despite whatever I set them to run at myself.

I own four games capable of running in DX11: Civilization V, Crysis 2, Total War: Shogun 2, and Batman: Arkham City.

Of these four, the only one that will actually run in 1920x1080 (or anything above 1280x1024) is Total War: Shogun 2, with which there are no issues whatsoever.

But Crysis 2, Civ 5, and B:AC all refuse to run in anything but either 1280x1024 or as low as 800x600. Once again, this is ONLY when the games are run in DX11 mode. I have tried changing the resolution manually, in the .ini's, but it just sets itself back no matter what I do.

In Crysis 2 and Civ 5, the resolution field in the game's settings (NOT the .ini) is left blank when in DirectX 11 mode, and I can't change it at all. It doesn't show up as anything, and runs at the same low resolutions I mentioned before. Only when I revert to DX9 are the games able to run at 1920x1080.

My system has:

- i5-2500K OC'd to 4.5 GHz
- 8GB of RAM @ 1333 MHz
- Sapphire 6950 flashed to 6970 and OC'd to 900/1375 (this is NOT the problem, I've tried flashing it back and setting the clocks to stock settings to no avail)
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

PLEASE, somebody help me!!! I want to run games in DX11 and I just can't. I've searched all over for answers, and haven't been able to find anyone with the same problem. ANY advice would be such a help.

Thanks!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: some DX 11 games running at low res
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 6:26 am 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11092
Location: Home Sweet Home
They may have put a cap on the resolution because you only have one card and they know the game will chug if it let you run a higher resolution. Then you would complain that the game sux because it is chugging. I have two XFX 6970 video cards in Crossfire X and have no problems.

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: some DX 11 games running at low res
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 8:46 am 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:55 pm
Posts: 9232
Location: back on the right side of the middle of the left side YES i'm folding
both those games work just fine with my "single" card. a 560ti, which works about the same as his card, I play both at 1920x1080 and they both remember my settings.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: some DX 11 games running at low res
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 10:28 am 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11092
Location: Home Sweet Home
Ranger,

He said the game won't run anything faster than 1920x1080.

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: some DX 11 games running at low res
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 10:58 am 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:44 am
Posts: 2681
Location: Up in you attic...Wi-Fi is delicious
I would say update your drivers and check the control panel settings. I have had no issues running Batman AC at 1080 but again that is on a 560ti. Moreover, is the resolution just not showing up or does it crash at a certain resolution?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: some DX 11 games running at low res
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 11:51 am 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:55 pm
Posts: 9232
Location: back on the right side of the middle of the left side YES i'm folding
Nastyman wrote:
Ranger,

He said the game won't run anything faster than 1920x1080.

Nasty

no he said it will not run at 1920x1080 in civ5 or crysis2 or batman under dx11, read the post.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: some DX 11 games running at low res
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 1:15 pm 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 4:31 am
Posts: 11092
Location: Home Sweet Home
You are right...I had a duh! moment for sure :|

I still think the games won't let him go higher because it is reading the video card to not be able to run in the resolution he sets and it reverts to a resolution know to run as it sees the video card is capable of. This line of reasoning pans out because if he sets the game for DX9, he can set any resolution he wants.

Don't forget he has the wrong bios running in that card...it should be a 6950 and not a 6970 bios.

Nasty


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: some DX 11 games running at low res
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 6:06 pm 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:44 am
Posts: 2681
Location: Up in you attic...Wi-Fi is delicious
cskoler wrote:
- Sapphire 6950 flashed to 6970 and OC'd to 900/1375 (this is NOT the problem, I've tried flashing it back and setting the clocks to stock settings to no avail)


Apparently the BIOS isn't the issue. May want to delete the settings for each game and it may detect the resolution.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: some DX 11 games running at low res
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:53 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 11:34 am
Posts: 133
cskoler wrote:
Hello,

I've been having a problem where certain games, when run in DirectX 11 (but NOT DirectX 9), set themselves to a very low, unacceptable resolution despite whatever I set them to run at myself.

I own four games capable of running in DX11: Civilization V, Crysis 2, Total War: Shogun 2, and Batman: Arkham City.

Of these four, the only one that will actually run in 1920x1080 (or anything above 1280x1024) is Total War: Shogun 2, with which there are no issues whatsoever.

But Crysis 2, Civ 5, and B:AC all refuse to run in anything but either 1280x1024 or as low as 800x600. Once again, this is ONLY when the games are run in DX11 mode. I have tried changing the resolution manually, in the .ini's, but it just sets itself back no matter what I do.

In Crysis 2 and Civ 5, the resolution field in the game's settings (NOT the .ini) is left blank when in DirectX 11 mode, and I can't change it at all. It doesn't show up as anything, and runs at the same low resolutions I mentioned before. Only when I revert to DX9 are the games able to run at 1920x1080.

My system has:

- i5-2500K OC'd to 4.5 GHz
- 8GB of RAM @ 1333 MHz
- Sapphire 6950 flashed to 6970 and OC'd to 900/1375 (this is NOT the problem, I've tried flashing it back and setting the clocks to stock settings to no avail)
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

PLEASE, somebody help me!!! I want to run games in DX11 and I just can't. I've searched all over for answers, and haven't been able to find anyone with the same problem. ANY advice would be such a help.

Thanks!

i think im running civ 5 at 1920x1080 but i'll check again


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group