Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 2:34 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Problem With Doom 3's Graphics Settings....
PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 8:33 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 5:27 pm
Posts: 86
I have Doom 3 installed, but it won't save the graphics settings, I change the display setting to the highest it can go: 1600x1200, and turn AA on to 16x, then click on "Apply Changes" and shut the game down and start it back up; and the settings are back to default...why won't they stay set?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:08 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 10:58 am
Posts: 982
I have experienced the same thing. I am assuming my video card does not support certain features.

What video card do you have??


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:20 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 5:27 pm
Posts: 86
Radeon HD 4870 X2.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:58 pm 
Team Member Top 1000
Team Member Top 1000
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 4:10 pm
Posts: 868
Definitely powerful enough to run Doom 3 maxed. Do you have any issues with any of your other games?

AJ


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 1:32 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 5:27 pm
Posts: 86
The only game I have a problem with other than Doom 3 not keeping its settings, is Crysis, I should be able to run that game on "Very High" settings, but get stuttering, so I have to run it only on "High" settings. :(

But, this is not about Crysis, this is about Doom 3.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 7:54 am 
Team Member Top 1000
Team Member Top 1000
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 4:10 pm
Posts: 868
Um...probably not - Crysis is a beast. My point is that I was trying to see if it was a GPU issue or a game issue. Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling Doom? Have you patched it at all?

AJ


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 12:54 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 10:53 am
Posts: 291
Location: Northern Michigan
maybe, just maybe, the config file your settings are stored in has been set to "Read Only"?

I say this because something very similar happened to me with Return to Castle Wolfenstein. It was either the config file or the folder it was in was set as Read Only. I changed it and everything worked then.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 3:37 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 5:27 pm
Posts: 86
It was "Read Only", and I changed it so everything wasn't "Read Only", but it still refuses to stay set.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 3:50 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 10:53 am
Posts: 291
Location: Northern Michigan
Cy-Kill wrote:
It was "Read Only", and I changed it so everything wasn't "Read Only", but it still refuses to stay set.


Then we try reverse psychology. Set the file so it is not read only first, then edit the config using notepad or Metapad, save and close it. Open it up one more time to see if your settings are still there, if so, you're good. Last, set the file as read only again, but this time with the settings you want.

I neglected to ask, are you using Vista or 7? Sometimes the config files are not stored in the same folder as they once did in XP. Vista, and 7 I think, store the config files in a copy directory location in your VirtualStore folder.
UserName/AppData/Local/VirtualStore/Program Files/

If this is the case, you can edit the one in your regular Program Files folder all day long and it won't make a bit of difference, the game isn't even using that one, or shouldn't be. Be sure to check in the VirtualStore folder to see if the config file the the game is actually using is there.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group