Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 3:59 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Problems with TF2
PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:56 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 4:17 pm
Posts: 36
So when I go to play Team Fortress 2 I open up the server tab hit refresh and wait. After it says it is done refreshing there are no servers being displayed. I have tried turning off all the filters turning off my fire wall , uninstalling steam and TF2 and re installing them. But I can never see any servers from the in game server list. Now if a friend is playing I can join there game no problem or if I use the view tab but I don not like doing it that way because some times you join a game that says it has users playing but its empty or full of bots so then I have to quiet all the way out and go back in. Any thoughts on why this is going on?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 9:35 am 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:44 am
Posts: 2681
Location: Up in you attic...Wi-Fi is delicious
Gailim had this same problem here in this thread but it died.

Can you find servers without being in-game? There should be a servers button in the lower section of your Steam window. See if you can find TF2 servers that way.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:44 am 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 11:31 am
Posts: 176
One similar problem I have is that not all the servers that appear in my favorites tab through Steam alone will appear in my favorites tab through the TF2 interface. Even if I copy and paste the server address from the Steam side into the TF2 side, they don't always appear in my favorites.

Also, if I have TF2 running and alt+tab to try and use the Steam servers list to connect, sometimes TF2 will crash. Other times it connects just fine with TF2 already running. If I try to connect without TF2 running, by the time TF2 loads up the server is often full and I can't get in, which is why I prefer to try and have TF2 already up and running.

So far I've only noticed this problem with TF2, so my thought was that it must be some problem with that particular game. So far I haven't found a solution.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:59 pm 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:44 am
Posts: 2681
Location: Up in you attic...Wi-Fi is delicious
I haven't been able to replicate any of these problems. What OS's are you guys running?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 3:21 pm 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 11:31 am
Posts: 176
I'm running Windows Vista 64


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 6:02 pm 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:44 am
Posts: 2681
Location: Up in you attic...Wi-Fi is delicious
Redcrow wrote:
I'm running Windows Vista 64


Just trying to see if there is any correlation, but I'm running Vista 64 too. In the meantime has anyone sent in a Steam Support ticket?

Edit: Try some of this;
    Run HL2, exit and then start TF2 (skip this if you don't have it)
    Download and install in the tools tab all the Source SDKs
    Lower your downloads speeds in tools to a lower value (doesn't matter, Steam download will saturate your bandwidth regardless)
    Change your download location
    Port forward the following for the Steam client

*Notice* I can't replicate this problem so I don't know if any of this will fix the issue.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AMD64Blondie and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group