Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sun Sep 21, 2014 11:33 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Ubuntu wifi problems
PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 5:08 am 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus

I have a netbook (acer AspireOne ADA-150) that dualboots Ubuntu 9.04 and Win7 RC. In Windows 7, wireless works perfectly. When i turn it on, the little light comes on and everythings fine. But in ubuntu, the wireless wont turn on when i flick the switch. it has an Atheros wifi card if that makes any difference. Im a bit of a linux noob, do i not have it installed or something? i can't recall if it ever worked in ubuntu..

Thanks

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 8:24 am 

I have the same problem with my HP except I am running dedicated linux now (Gos distro) and from everything I have read up on you will need to download the proper drives for your Laptops wifi card and there is a program you will need to install to support it all. I am still pretty new to linux and as soon as I get it to run I will post it here.

JR

Post subject: Re: Ubuntu wifi problems
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 9:30 am 
Super Mario Banhammer
Super Mario Banhammer

Denis63 wrote:
I have a netbook (acer AspireOne ADA-150) that dualboots Ubuntu 9.04 and Win7 RC. In Windows 7, wireless works perfectly. When i turn it on, the little light comes on and everythings fine. But in ubuntu, the wireless wont turn on when i flick the switch. it has an Atheros wifi card if that makes any difference. Im a bit of a linux noob, do i not have it installed or something? i can't recall if it ever worked in ubuntu..

Thanks