Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Aug 20, 2014 9:57 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: cant get USB to work in virtual box
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:43 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 9:35 pm
Posts: 174
I am just about to give windows the boot. I have installed Ubuntu 9.04 as a dual boot setup. Unfortunately I am stuck using iTunes to backup my phone and load music on it. The solution--that I know of--is to setup XP with iTunes under virtualbox. Once I get a few crinkles out of the way, I will reformat my disk and completely setup ubuntu as my primary OS. The Vbox, as mentioned, is for itunes but I am unable to mount the USB cable to recognize in VBox. There is a link I have tried to follow (link below) but I have been unsuccessful. I hope someone here can help. I have tried the ubuntu forums but have reached a standstill.

Thanks

http://blog.taragana.com/index.php/arch ... buntu-810/


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:00 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
Have you verified that your user account is part of the vboxusers system group?

and why not use something like rythmbox instead?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:19 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 9:35 pm
Posts: 174
How do I varify I am the user for VBox?

As for Rythmbox, I wish I could use it but it does not recognize my iphone. It has recognized my other ipods without any problem. And how would I update my iphone os without itunes?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 1:11 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
If you go under administrator, you'll find users and groups.

You'll need to unlock it to see anything worthwhile and then go into manage groups.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 1:22 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 9:35 pm
Posts: 174
I clicked on my name and went into the group settings vboxusers is there. Other than that I am uncertain as to what to do. I appreciate your help on this. I have been at this for a week now. In VBox the usb devices is shadowed out. I have tried the command lines on the link mentioned but they did not work.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 1:47 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
Give yourself a reboot and lets see if that changes anything.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 2:00 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 9:35 pm
Posts: 174
NO.

No change at all. I need to take the dog for a walk and clear my mind. I have lost sleep on this one. This one thing before I make the 100% switch over to Ubuntu.

Talk soon.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 5:49 pm 
Million Club - 5 Plus*
Million Club - 5 Plus*
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 6:37 pm
Posts: 4745
Location: In the monkey's litterbox
Which Virtualbox edition is it? USB is only supported with PUEL.

Also the USB filesystem needs to be active for vbox USB to work.

(I have VBox PUEL on Arch64 working for USB devices)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 7:57 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
but I thought the point of that was just a pass-through virtual USB controller, so you didn't have to fart around with finding device drivers for your guest.

I would think VB would still capture an existing device upon startup and then require drivers if needed.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 9:07 pm 
Million Club - 5 Plus*
Million Club - 5 Plus*
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 6:37 pm
Posts: 4745
Location: In the monkey's litterbox
It is basically a pass-through controller, it's just that VBox is using the old USB infrastructure. I had to add this line to fstab to get it to work for me.


Code:
none /proc/bus/usb usbfs auto,busgid=500,devgid=500,busmode=0775,devmode=0664 0 0


it should be different depending on the system (gid 500 is vboxusers)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 1:45 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 9:35 pm
Posts: 174
So what is this fstab? I typed the code in the terminal but all I get is "bash: none: command not found". I must have missed a step somewhere.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 8:54 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 8:36 pm
Posts: 95
you can't blindly just type things in the terminal, i know that most distros hide things behind gui's nowdays but they are just rewriting files. fstab is in /etc/ directory, fstab stands for file system table, it is a text file that the system reads when it boots and mounts drives (local, network ...)
use an editor as root (sudo) and point it to this file example
sudo gedit /etc/fstab, if your not in the sudo group this will fail, get root privilige by typing su (enter key) give it the root password (that you should have set up when you installed) when asked then type gedit /etc/fstab. if you do not have root rights you can see this file and load it but it will be read only. if you don't have gedit install try kwrite of nano for editor. gedit installs with gnome desktop, kwrite installs with KDE desktop.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 2:21 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 12:38 pm
Posts: 240
if you aren't in the sudo tab....you can just type sudo su....and then enter your password.

If virtualbox isn't working to your satisfaction...may I suggest that you try installing VMWare Player for Linux?
It is free....and works wonderfully in linux.
I have a USB Phone (MagicJack) and it works fine in VMware Player for me.

Glenn


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group