Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 10:30 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Ubuntu on PS3
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 4:06 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 9:08 am
Posts: 53
Location: Canada
I read the article on installing ubuntu on ps3, and installed without any problems except when I try to boot there is no desktop? It is strictly just the terminal. Did I miss a step?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 6:21 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 11:11 am
Posts: 953
Which article did you follow exactly?

This one, for example, does include the steps to install a GUI.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 6:22 pm 
Team Member Top 1000
Team Member Top 1000
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 4:10 pm
Posts: 868
I think he is referring to the one in the June 2009 issue... let me look to see if you missed a step.

AJ


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 7:14 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 9:08 am
Posts: 53
Location: Canada
CTskifreak wrote:
I think he is referring to the one in the June 2009 issue... let me look to see if you missed a step.

AJ


Yes, that is correct. I get into the bootloader and push enter instead of typing in the install line, and it takes me into the terminal. I asked a friend of mine, who is familiar with linux, and he said to use startx or xstart, I forget which one, but it doesn't seem to work either. Perhaps there is a step missing from the article.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 7:35 pm 
TravBv2.0
TravBv2.0
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 11:35 am
Posts: 3898
Location: In the server room
Have you tried making sure it's installed?

sudo apt-get install xorg gnome

If It's installed, it will check the version in the repos against the installed version and update if necessary. If it's not installed, it should install without issue. You may need to do some editing of your xorg.conf, but it should work fine.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 10:29 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 9:08 am
Posts: 53
Location: Canada
that Linux guy wrote:
Have you tried making sure it's installed?

sudo apt-get install xorg gnome

If It's installed, it will check the version in the repos against the installed version and update if necessary. If it's not installed, it should install without issue. You may need to do some editing of your xorg.conf, but it should work fine.


Tried this, and it says "Could not find package xorg". Any update on corrections / missing parts from the June Article?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 6:40 pm 
TravBv2.0
TravBv2.0
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 11:35 am
Posts: 3898
Location: In the server room
Could you post the output of

cat /etc/apt/sources.list


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 9:47 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 9:08 am
Posts: 53
Location: Canada
There is a lot of stuff. The only way is via image. I hope you can see clearly...

Image
Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 10:02 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 11:11 am
Posts: 953
Run "sudo apt-get update" and then try install xorg again.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 11:23 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 9:08 am
Posts: 53
Location: Canada
Alright well I have been trying a lot of different things. It turns out that my wireless wasn't getting through, even though I changed it to WEP. So I managed to setup an Ethernet cable to my PS3, and am attempting to re-install because last time I used one of the 1080i video modes, and the portable TV I have doesn't support that. So I will update on the status once I see how this goes.

Few questions... 1) If I install without using the special install line for HD, will I be able to switch to it after its done? 2) If I use hardwire during install, will I be able to switch to Wireless with WEP once I am completed the installation?

**UPDATE: So far so good. Did the update command, and now downloading xorg. Both made connection to internet, and were a success.

**UPDATE2: Everything worked out fine. The GUI is working. Thanks for all the help. Still looking to get those 2 questions answered, as well as wondering about should I update Ubuntu? There are 58 updates waiting to be installed, but I was thinking the newer versions might not work well with the PS3 or something. Let me know. Thanks again.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2009 10:34 am 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 12:38 pm
Posts: 240
From what I understand...Ubuntu will run fine on the Ps3...but you will not be getting all the benefits...
Yellow Dog Linux has a version specifically written for the Ps3...and takes full advantage of the cores that Sony will allow access to.
Just a thought.


Glenn


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2009 7:22 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:13 am
Posts: 19
Both versions run under the exact same hypervisor, there is no difference between using ubuntu and yellowdog now


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group