Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sun Dec 28, 2014 4:43 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Linux Newbie
PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:29 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 7:50 pm
Posts: 213
I have installed virtualbox and Ubuntu as my O.S. in virtualbox so I can start to learn Linux. My first problem is that I can't adjust the screen resolution higher than 800x600. I've tried using Envy and this in the terminal program:
sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
with no change whatever. Help!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:34 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:14 am
Posts: 2134
TMK, when Ubuntu does not know what video card you have, it limits you to 800x600...it very possibly that VB is telling it that you have some emulation GPU...go to a terminal and type
Code:
lspci | grep VGA
check what it says...if it is an emulation GPU, there may be a way around this, but I do not know what it would be, someone else would have to step in and help...if it accurately reports your GPU, you probably just aren't using the right drivers, LMK if it is accurately reposting your GPU...

and if you have anymore questions, just repost... ;-)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 8:02 am 
Million Club - 5 Plus*
Million Club - 5 Plus*
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 6:37 pm
Posts: 4745
Location: In the monkey's litterbox
Have you installed the VirtualBox Guest Additions yet?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 12:02 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 7:50 pm
Posts: 213
I'm trying to install guest additions, I can mount the image(I think I can it is showing up on the desktop) but I can't figure out what to do after that.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 12:13 pm 
Million Club - 5 Plus*
Million Club - 5 Plus*
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 6:37 pm
Posts: 4745
Location: In the monkey's litterbox
http://ubuntu-tutorials.com/2007/10/13/ ... irtualbox/


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 12:35 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 7:50 pm
Posts: 213
I'm getting ready to give up. Everytime I try to cd/media/cdrom I get bash: cd/media/cdrom: No such file or directory
I can't even cd.. to move directory pwd shows /home/scuzzo
anyone else out there want to help a linux idiot?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 1:09 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:14 am
Posts: 2134
scuzzo wrote:
I'm getting ready to give up. Everytime I try to cd/media/cdrom I get bash: cd/media/cdrom: No such file or directory
I can't even cd.. to move directory pwd shows /home/scuzzo
anyone else out there want to help a linux idiot?


Just for the sake of accuracy, are you typing it exactly how you typed here? or
Code:
cd /media/cdrom
Notice, there is a space between cd [the command] and /media/cdrom[the directory you wish to 'cd' to] That would explain the BASh error...because there IS no file or directory named /cd/media/cdrom

Are you comfortable with other CLI's? [command line interface] Windows' or Apples?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 1:30 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 7:50 pm
Posts: 213
It is stunning at the difference a space makes. I grew up using dos so yeah I know my way around a command line but I have 0 knowledge about Linux. I don't know what to do for anything Linux related so I'm trying it out in VirtualBox so I can get a feel for it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 1:37 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:14 am
Posts: 2134
scuzzo wrote:
It is stunning at the difference a space makes. I grew up using dos so yeah I know my way around a command line but I have 0 knowledge about Linux. I don't know what to do for anything Linux related so I'm trying it out in VirtualBox so I can get a feel for it.
As long as you are comfortable with a CLI, most are the same, just changing to the correct command syntax and verbiage...[I hope that means what I think it does...been a while since I have used big words... ;-) ]

Here is a page that helped me a lot during early learning stages... http://www.ss64.com/bash/

Also, typing 'man' followed by any command displays its manual [if available] and is quite useful, if you need to know parameters and all that...

Like usual, if you ever have any more questions, just post back, or start a new thread if it is not on this topic, and we will help you out if at all possible...and remember, we are computer people, and there are [including myself] a few teenagers on here, so our sleep schedules are a little weird...posting at all hours of the night is welcome... ;-) hahaha...


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.