Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Sep 17, 2014 10:33 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Linux Home Server?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 1:33 pm 

OK forgive me for my noobishness but i'm a little new to linux (not so much command line, i still remember the good ol dos days). anyway...

I'm looking to build myself a nice cheap home server (using Linux of course) and i want to know would i be able to stream my movies and music over the internet? E.G I'm sitting at school and want to watch my favorite star trek episode in between classes on my eee pc.

or share some files with my friends?

any tips and advice would be appreciated (please don't tell me to get a sling box I'm a poor college student...thanks!)

peace and prosper :)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:33 am 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus

i think this might be best and easiest solution for you....

www.youtube.com

PS, how do you like your eee? im thinking of getting one for taking pics off my camera when im away from home...

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:38 am 
SON OF A GUN
SON OF A GUN

Denis63 wrote:
i think this might be best and easiest solution for you....

www.youtube.com

PS, how do you like your eee? im thinking of getting one for taking pics off my camera when im away from home...
No, it isn't. You can't legally put copyrighted material up on youtube. He would likely get the uploads deleted, and possibly his account locked/banned/deleted.

Post subject: Re: Linux Home Server?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:40 am 
SON OF A GUN
SON OF A GUN

torrodabull wrote:
I'm looking to build myself a nice cheap home server (using Linux of course)

A good start is this google search.

Lifehacker
LinuxDevCenter
IceCast

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:59 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000

VLC can apparently stream stuff

http://www.videolan.org/doc/streaming-h ... to-en.html

Post subject: Re: Linux Home Server?