Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 7:25 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: OS uptime,part 2.
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:47 pm 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 5:30 pm
Posts: 1682
Location: Portland,OR
Just thought I'd start a new uptime thread,as the old one was from August 2007.
Currently my new Athlon64 X2 OpenSuse 10.3 backup PC is sitting at 90 days,1:33 hours.
(planning to upgrade it to OpenSuse 11 a couple of days before my 25th b-day, which is July 29.) So I should be at 96 to 97 days uptime before shutting down for the OS upgrade.
Woo-hoo!!

What's your uptime?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 7:36 pm 
Million Club 2+ [PC]*
Million Club 2+ [PC]*
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:55 pm
Posts: 7844
I had over 51 days on my Vista main computer. But in the south, even a nice APC UPS won't keep your uptimes going for too long without a cold reboot. Too many thunderstorms that knock out power.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:23 pm 
Million Club - 5 Plus*
Million Club - 5 Plus*
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 6:37 pm
Posts: 4745
Location: In the monkey's litterbox
I was up for over 200 days on a Celeron 2.5 running Archlinux 2.6.19-beyond before a several-hour power hit took care of that.

I ended up switching it to a 2.6.25 based kernel with the downtime


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 5:00 am 
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
Monkey Federation (Top 10)*
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 22, 2005 8:28 am
Posts: 3673
Location: The Blue Nowhere
Pictures or it never happened people. :)

I got nothing, my best machine is only on 65 days I think. I'll post it later...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 5:45 am 
SON OF A GUN
SON OF A GUN
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:41 am
Posts: 11605
I think our server is up around 150 days. Not sure exactly.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:03 am 
Java Junkie
Java Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:23 am
Posts: 24222
Location: Granite Heaven
I turn my appliances on when I need them and off when I don't. :P


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:08 am 
Million Club 2+ [PC]*
Million Club 2+ [PC]*
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:55 pm
Posts: 7844
Lodis4 wrote:
Pictures or it never happened people. :)

I got nothing, my best machine is only on 65 days I think. I'll post it later...


We are talking about computer up time. Not mad azz overclocks. Don't believe it? So what. If someone makes an unreasonable claim, like "My Vista install has 700+ days!!", then let's see some proof. But let's not get carried away.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 7:57 am 
SON OF A GUN
SON OF A GUN
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:41 am
Posts: 11605
Quakindude wrote:
We are talking about computer up time. Not mad azz overclocks. Don't believe it? So what. If someone makes an unreasonable claim, like "My Vista install has 700+ days!!", then let's see some proof. But let's not get carried away.
I would only call BS because it hasn't been out that long :) I just happen to turn mine off every night.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 8:01 pm 
Million Club - 5 Plus*
Million Club - 5 Plus*
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 6:37 pm
Posts: 4745
Location: In the monkey's litterbox
Lodis4 wrote:
Pictures or it never happened people. :)

I got nothing, my best machine is only on 65 days I think. I'll post it later...


It's kind of hard to get a picture when the uptime was ended by a power outage... ;)

But my server was up from late August 2007 - June 27th, or about 300 days.

Another set of power failures ripped through here about 6 days ago, and that killed everything in the house again *sigh*

Now it's time to get back to setting uptime records.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 4:22 am 
SON OF A GUN
SON OF A GUN
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:41 am
Posts: 11605
Get a UPS?

I had a guy who I used to work with talking about replacing the batteries in an old APC UPS with deep cycle marine batteries...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 3:41 pm 
Million Club - 5 Plus*
Million Club - 5 Plus*
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 6:37 pm
Posts: 4745
Location: In the monkey's litterbox
I had UPSes on them. The power outage was basically 4 hours. My UPSes last only about 30 minutes.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 5:16 am 
[Team Member]
[Team Member]
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 7:07 am
Posts: 1491
Location: 127.0.0.1
On my personal primary system, its as QuakinDude says, in FLA power is the culprit, not the OS stability. I've been up to 200+ days, but the summer storms always break up a good run...

However, at work is a different story. In my lab I think we have a 5KW generator/UPS that cost something like $2M USD to maintain numerous systems. When power goes off, its diesel engine kicks in and stinks up the parking lot (heh). It can keep our lab filled with Sun servers running for several hours, which is usually enough time to get power back. I have a RH Enterprise WS 4 box down there that has had an uptime of 600+ days, I'll go check it today and see what its at.

Screenshots are not going to happen. I've secured the system (per our security requirements) and the USB ports are disabled so I can't transfer a jpeg of the screenshot. And, the system is on a closed network, so I can't take a screenshot from a ssh/telnet/rsh (actually, telnet and rsh are disabled too) session either. Sorry if you don't believe me... :(


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 2:41 pm 
TravBv2.0
TravBv2.0
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 11:35 am
Posts: 3898
Location: In the server room
I've had normal desktop systems running Linux for 3 to 4 months at a time. My server sat for nearly 7 months when I was working on a website, but my ISP didn't like the fact I was running a server, so my would-be-site is now a blog, lol. It was an Emachines T1090, all original. I'll try to beat that uptime record with my new server with my new acquisition, an Emachines Etower 466i :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:17 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 7:52 pm
Posts: 3189
I need to get a UPS. The power company here sucks. It's an inconsistent flow fairly often, and I'm amazed my PSU hasn't died from it.

It seems like every time I reach one month, the power goes out. It really bugs me.

Other than power failures, I don't ever turn off my desktop computer. It just sits there, and I can't sleep without it on. I usually have a lot of torrents going anyways.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 1:23 pm 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
yurimxpxman wrote:
I need to get a UPS. The power company here sucks. It's an inconsistent flow fairly often, and I'm amazed my PSU hasn't died from it.

It seems like every time I reach one month, the power goes out. It really bugs me.

Other than power failures, I don't ever turn off my desktop computer. It just sits there, and I can't sleep without it on. I usually have a lot of torrents going anyways.


Dude, I have figured out the cause of my power outages, every time I set the clock on my microwave the power goes out in a day or two!!!


Logical fallacies can be fun :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 1:46 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 7:52 pm
Posts: 3189
drainbread wrote:
Dude, I have figured out the cause of my power outages, every time I set the clock on my microwave the power goes out in a day or two!!!


Logical fallacies can be fun :D


I don't follow you. I just said that our power company sucks because the electrical flow is never consistent and goes out about once a month.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 3:04 pm 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
Was a joke dude, trying to link power loss with mundane circumstances and then throw a "conspiracy" twist to it, so in the end I was making lite(or light?) of power failures and woo loving nutjobs.


Anyways, never mind me... I'm fuckin' nuts.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 6:19 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 7:52 pm
Posts: 3189
drainbread wrote:
Anyways, never mind me... I'm fuckin' nuts.


I know :lol:


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group