Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 12:16 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Which Distro to use
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 2:18 pm 

Okay i am a complete linux noob. I want to mess with it as i am going to be having a spare pc soon. I was wondering what yall thought was best for a noobie. I am looking for the distro that has great compatibility with newer hardware and is not to hard to install for a first time. If there is good docuementation available, i could just use that as a reference. Any ideas are appreciated!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 2:58 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000

I'd probably go with Fedora out of the box. Just my opinion, but the documentation for that seems better then most.

Mandrake isn't a bad choice either, but I just haven't seen as many dedicated forums outside of the actual mandrake site.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 5:22 pm 
Forum's 3dfx Zealot
Forum's 3dfx Zealot

Slackware. The best of the best. The most unix like of all linuxes and one of the oldest ones too.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:19 am 

Mandrake. I was a total noob, and I was recommended Mandrake, it is a painless install, and easy to use.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 9:36 am 

Yea, thanks for all the replys everyone. Im gonna go mess around with a couple different ones. Seeya!

Post subject: heh
PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 8:10 pm 

I would go slackware or freebsd

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 04, 2004 9:00 am 
Team Member
Team Member

Good distro's for new users are usually SuSE, Fedora, MDK. If you want to take more time and learn some things on the way I would suggest Debian, Gentoo, and Slackware. There are a couple Debian based distro's that are pretty nice and easy to use but they are NOT FREE :(.

Personally I would suggest Debian or Fedora...depending on what your looking for.

Wazer

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 04, 2004 11:13 am