Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 1:42 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: w00t!!! Got Gentoo to work on my P4
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 10:13 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 4:04 pm
Posts: 985
Location: Earth
Now, some of ya'll will think "well, as long as you followed the install, it shouldn't be that hard!" Well, that's not the case. See, I'm running a Mylex SCSI card, so install was a bit weird. Here's how I did it:

* before chroot'ing, I made symlinks to my hard drive. So instead of /dev/discs/disc0/disc, I symlink'ed it to /dev/hda, and partitions (part1, part2, part3) was on hda1, hda2, hda3 respectively.

* after chrooting, for some strange reason, my partitions went to /dev/rd/c0d0, /dev/c0d0px. So to make things easier, I made new symlinks, but this posed a problem. On my fstab, I had /dev/rd/c0d0px on my /boot, swap, and / mount points.

* did the genkernel, went back to the kernel config, and reconfigured the kernel to see the DAC960 controller. I installed it as part of the kernel, so it's not a module.

* installed grub as necessary, emerged the proper modules, and rebooted.

* Then the system crapped out. It couldn't find root, this poses a problem since now, the root drive changed (yet again) to /dev/discs/disc0/part3!!!!

* Rebooted the system, popped in the gentoo liveCD, and booted to the command prompt. I edited the LiveCD's fstab such that I can mount /dev/discs/disc0/part3 to /mnt/part3 (had to make a directory). From here, I merely mounted /dev/discs/disc0/part3.

* I edited the fstab file on my root drive, so I switched from /dev/rd/c0d0p3 (the supposed root drive) to /dev/discs/disc0/part3. edited the rest as necessary.

* rebooted the system...

* Voila! It worked!!!!

Now, and I'm not sure if this will work, since I have grub automatically looking for the root drive at /dev/hda3, I made a directory at /dev called hda3. I also made a symlink from /dev/discs/disc0/part3 to /dev/hda3. Now, I have to find out and see if I boot Gentoo again, will it see this symlink and load appropriately.

Anyhow, this is the last of my PC's to be converted to Linux. Now, I'm only running 1 Windows machine - the Dell Inspiron XPS (with a P4EE!). That will remain a Windows box, but all of my other machines will strictly run Linux. So yep, as a Linux n00b, I'm proud to say that I'm learning a lot!!! :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 1:12 am 
Million Club 2+ [PC]
Million Club 2+ [PC]
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 11:20 am
Posts: 1700
bump :twisted:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 1:15 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 9:01 am
Posts: 8091
http://greenfly.org/mes.html

http://funroll-loops.org/

:mrgreen:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 6:16 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 4:04 pm
Posts: 985
Location: Earth
urmumsacow wrote:
http://greenfly.org/mes.html

http://funroll-loops.org/

:mrgreen:



blah blah blah...get out of here you Fedora user!!! :twisted: :wink:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:07 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 9:01 am
Posts: 8091
Sadly I can't even make that claim :|

I'd like to get in on linux, I just don't have a comp or need for it.

//Looks over at $0 soyo board + assorted old parts


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:50 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 4:04 pm
Posts: 985
Location: Earth
urmumsacow wrote:
Sadly I can't even make that claim :|

I'd like to get in on linux, I just don't have a comp or need for it.

//Looks over at $0 soyo board + assorted old parts


Just dual boot, use Partition Magic or some other disk partitioning software and a Linux distro.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:53 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 9:01 am
Posts: 8091
Eh, thats like 3 more gigs that could be used for music!

Also as said above I just don't have the need (unless I wanted to be clean in my software usage). Live cd's are useless to me, I mean you boot up and its like: "Uhhhh... sooooo... yeaaaah... what now?"

Wait a tick, I DO have a linux comp, and it currently has Red hat 9 on it! It's an old Dell server thats frikin LOUD as hell and doesn't have a proper desk setup so I have no use for it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 8:16 am 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
...next time ya reinstall windoze just use FAT32 damn fedora seems to like it


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 8:53 am 
Smithfield
Smithfield
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 9:01 am
Posts: 8091
I refuse to dual boot.

Only way i'd even consider it is if I had some sort of cool switch system so that I could just look at my powered down system, flip a switch and have it boot to linux instead.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 12, 2004 2:04 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 1:12 pm
Posts: 2
i think there was somethink like that but you needed 2 hds


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group