Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 7:05 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: dumbass question
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 3:04 am 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
i have been up for about 30 hours so forgive any misspellings

does one have to know how to program to use linux or a linux based OS?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:03 am 
Forum's 3dfx Zealot
Forum's 3dfx Zealot

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 251
Location: Florida
well a number of us do.

If you looking for a linux to try out with out having to edit info on your hard drive you can try Knopixx which is a linux that runs off a cd.

you can download it from there website for free

http://www.knoppix.org/


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dumbass question
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 8:04 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 11:07 am
Posts: 666
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
drainbread wrote:
i have been up for about 30 hours so forgive any misspellings

does one have to know how to program to use linux or a linux based OS?


no. it depends on what distro of linux you use.

like jawa said, it helps to be proficient at some text editing programs...like vim, or (egads!) emacs.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dumbass question
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 6:13 pm 
Java Junkie
Java Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:23 am
Posts: 24218
Location: Granite Heaven
drainbread wrote:
does one have to know how to program to use linux or a linux based OS?


Nope. That is not a requirement at all.

Knowledge of operating systems, file systems, and hardware is necessary for some distros, but there are others that install easily without this knowledge (ie., Mandrake) ... and still others (as Jawa mentioned) that don't even need to be installed. Knoppix runs linux right off your CD-ROM without changing anything in your system. :)

I agree with Jawa ... try the Knoppix CD and see if you are comfortable in linux ... if so, then you can make the next step to a HD based install ... and from there, the world is yours! :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 7:47 pm 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
thanks it took and hour to download but it works......infact i posted this while using knoppix and it will take a little getting used to, i do like the layout


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 8:21 pm 
Java Junkie
Java Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:23 am
Posts: 24218
Location: Granite Heaven
Sweet! Glad to hear it. :) If you have any questions, feel free ...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 11:40 pm 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
im on a roll.....i just found debian.....i think i want to setup a multi-boot it will be XP 98 and debian.....i know i need a seprate partition for 98....and read that linux(based OS) dont like NTFS so im gonna make 3 partitions just for the hell of it......but wich OS do i need to install first? the partitions are gonna be 30gb/XP 2gb/98 and 8gb/debian.....i forgot i am also gonna make a 3gb partition on my second HD for a fat32 swap...are you confused cuz i am :lol:


edit:
do I need to set my BIOS to cache my BIOS or does debian/linux work like windoze in that it just uses the drivers to run hardware?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2004 4:52 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 11:32 pm
Posts: 2555
Location: Somewhere between compilation and linking
drainbread wrote:
im on a roll.....i just found debian.....i think i want to setup a multi-boot it will be XP 98 and debian.....i know i need a seprate partition for 98....and read that linux(based OS) dont like NTFS so im gonna make 3 partitions just for the hell of it......but wich OS do i need to install first? the partitions are gonna be 30gb/XP 2gb/98 and 8gb/debian.....i forgot i am also gonna make a 3gb partition on my second HD for a fat32 swap...are you confused cuz i am :lol:

I would partition as follows.....

hda1: 7 gigs fat 32
hda2: 25 gigs ntfs
hda3: 8 gigs ext2 or ext3

hdb1: 250 or so megs linux swap
hdb2: 3 gigs fat32

You have to put win98 on the first partition. This also assumes that the speed of hda and hdb are pretty comparable. If hda is significantly faster put the linux swap on hda4. I bumped up hda2 because 2 gigs is just useless - especially since win98 will consume 700+ megs. What if you want to transfer a movie or a few directories of mp3's or something?

The easiest installation order is win98, winxp, debian.

drainbread wrote:
do I need to set my BIOS to cache my BIOS or does debian/linux work like windoze in that it just uses the drivers to run hardware?

All operating systems use drivers to run hardware devices. You don't need to change your bios, except you might want to change the pnp os setting to "non-pnp os".


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2004 6:01 am 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
Gadget wrote:
I would partition as follows.....

hda1: 7 gigs fat 32
hda2: 25 gigs ntfs
hda3: 8 gigs ext2 or ext3

hdb1: 250 or so megs linux swap
hdb2: 3 gigs fat32

You have to put win98 on the first partition. This also assumes that the speed of hda and hdb are pretty comparable. If hda is significantly faster put the linux swap on hda4. I bumped up hda2 because 2 gigs is just useless - especially since win98 will consume 700+ megs. What if you want to transfer a movie or a few directories of mp3's or something?

The easiest installation order is win98, winxp, debian.


ok, how do i format the debian partition? should the install disk have the formating tools?
i put 98 down for 2gb just cuz it will be a "bare bones" install and i have gotten 98 down to just under 400mb, and all the programs i will be running with 98come up to another 500mb that should leave around 1gb for swap...but i might add more just for the sake of defraging purposes

both hard drives are the same model, anyways half the fun is playing around to find out what works best rite

Gadget wrote:
All operating systems use drivers to run hardware devices. You don't need to change your bios, except you might want to change the pnp os setting to "non-pnp os".


i just asked this question cuz i have never installed a linux based OS before...i know when ya set the BIOS to nonCACHE windows is happy

thanks


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2004 6:05 am 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
forgot.....i just use the 2nd HD for my archive( all my install files) and for my pagefile (virtual memory)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2004 11:57 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 11:32 pm
Posts: 2555
Location: Somewhere between compilation and linking
drainbread wrote:
ok, how do i format the debian partition? should the install disk have the formating tools?

Yes, try 'cfdisk' in debian. The easiest way is to leave just leave whatever partitions are not used as free space. When installing win98 just create the 2gig partition and leave the rest free. Then install xp and create it's partition and leave the debian paritition as free space. More fdisks that way, but it is easy.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dumbass question
PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2004 1:28 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 12:26 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Lafayette, IN
kkith wrote:
drainbread wrote:
i have been up for about 30 hours so forgive any misspellings

does one have to know how to program to use linux or a linux based OS?


no. it depends on what distro of linux you use.

like jawa said, it helps to be proficient at some text editing programs...like vim, or (egads!) emacs.
If those seem too hard for you (and me :shock:) then you should try pico or, its clone, nano. They are very simple to use with just a few easy keyboard shortcuts and they have help at the bottom of the terminal.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dumbass question
PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2004 3:42 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000*
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 11:32 pm
Posts: 2555
Location: Somewhere between compilation and linking
Jevin wrote:
kkith wrote:
drainbread wrote:
i have been up for about 30 hours so forgive any misspellings

does one have to know how to program to use linux or a linux based OS?


no. it depends on what distro of linux you use.

like jawa said, it helps to be proficient at some text editing programs...like vim, or (egads!) emacs.
If those seem too hard for you (and me :shock:) then you should try pico or, its clone, nano. They are very simple to use with just a few easy keyboard shortcuts and they have help at the bottom of the terminal.

That is right.... during the debian install, the only text editor available is nano (if thigns haven't changed).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2004 6:03 pm 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
thanks im gonna take a nap and get started....i already pre-partitioned my 2nd HD and left blank space for a debian format to use as a archive


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dumbass question
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 10:54 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 11:07 am
Posts: 666
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Jevin wrote:
If those seem too hard for you (and me :shock:) then you should try pico or, its clone, nano. They are very simple to use with just a few easy keyboard shortcuts and they have help at the bottom of the terminal.


No, I am very proficient with vim, I hate emacs only because I don't know it well.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 9:22 pm 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
...i cant get debian to work i have tried the install 3 times and have figured out two things

1. microsloth has me spoiled

2.i dont have a high enuff geek factor rating to make it work

But i will not give up trying...i am going to download every damn OS i can find and go insane making them work


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2004 7:25 am 
Java Junkie
Java Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:23 am
Posts: 24218
Location: Granite Heaven
Try Slackware. Jawa (one of our regulars) says it is quite easy for a beginner to install .. you can be our test candidate! :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 5:27 am 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
while downloading slackware i found this quiz
http://bbspot.com/News/2003/01/os_quiz.php

deleted useless stuff

WTF am i doin wrong.............


Last edited by drainbread on Sat Aug 28, 2004 11:58 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 6:08 am 
Java Junkie
Java Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:23 am
Posts: 24218
Location: Granite Heaven
drainbread wrote:
WTF am i doin wrong.............


You're trying to use HTML on a bbCode enabled board.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 2:13 pm 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
slackware is too much of a hassle....but i got mandrake up and running.....but it wont support my trackball (PS2 or USB) so im gonna go buy a cheep-o mouse


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group