Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Nov 25, 2014 3:50 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Linux dual boot?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 12:59 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Hi there, I just purchased a new computer (Athlon 64 3000+, Soltek nForce3 250 based mobo, MSI Radeon 9800 Pro 128) for school, and part of the curriculum deals with Linux and Unix. I have contemplated putting Linux on my machine for a while, but was bewildered by the different options. I have no experience currently with the OS, but I will get more skilled when my programming skills increase, so getting a distribution aimed at total newbies will be too confining after a while.

Which Linux versions would work best with the hardware I have, and also have a gentle learning curve, but not crippled in terms of performance?

Post subject: Re: Linux dual boot?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 1:24 pm 
Team Member Top 10
Team Member Top 10

Hi,
I'm a newbie to Linux too, so I won't be able to answer your question on hardware support, but I'll see if I can help you with this one:
the butter on the muffin wrote:
Which Linux versions would work best with the hardware I have, and also have a gentle learning curve, but not crippled in terms of performance?

I found Slackware to be a great mix of that. I found it to be easy to set-up, yet isn't totally GUI'd out or 'dumbed down'.

After installing it, I read up on Re-compiling Kernels and posted questions here. I then re-compiled my kernel to be optimized for the P4 platform I'm running and got the proper drivers for everything. So far, it seems to be running solid.

I'm sure others here will be in soon with suggestions to other distro's I haven't tried yet.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 1:33 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000