Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Jul 09, 2014 9:10 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Dual Boot Software, What are you using?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 7:09 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:10 pm
Posts: 50
Location: Kansas
I have WinXP installed on one hard drive...Vista 64 installed on another hard drive and I am trying to dual boot.

What are you using?

I have tried GAG http://gag.sourceforge.net/ but I am having trouble with it seeing my operating systems.

I have looked at Acronis and it doesn't see my operating systems either....I am beginning to wonder if there is something going on with my master boot records on the drives. Thing is that XP and Vista both boot fine when I just have each one plugged into the pc by it's self. [/url]


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 7:37 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 9:23 am
Posts: 4053
If you install XP first and then Vista, the Vista boot loader will find both OS's automatically.
You can try inserting the Vista DVD and running the repair start up option and see if it finds XP to give you the choice during startup of which you want to boot to.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 2:12 pm 
Team Member [Top 500]*
Team Member [Top 500]*
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:22 pm
Posts: 8720
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Things should have gone per what Lawless covered.

However, you can download and install Vista Boot Pro and set up your boot:

http://en.kioskea.net/telecharger/telec ... a-boot-pro

Ron


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 3:01 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:10 pm
Posts: 50
Location: Kansas
Thanks guys...I will give it a try.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:57 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:10 pm
Posts: 50
Location: Kansas
I tried the Windows Repair and that didn't work. I still can not dual boot.

I tried Vista Boot Pro and it would not see Win XP either and it came up and said that the drive that Vista is installed on is a hidden drive and may not work correctly.

I have a feeling that GAG changed my drives to hidden some how and that is why any dual boot programs I try will not see the drives.

Does anyone have any idea of how to change drives from hidden to unhidden??

Thanks.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 10:24 am 
Java Junkie
Java Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 10:23 am
Posts: 24222
Location: Granite Heaven
I'm using Grub. ;)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 1:20 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 9:07 am
Posts: 839
Location: Maryland
-Lawless wrote:
If you install XP first and then Vista, the Vista boot loader will find both OS's automatically.
You can try inserting the Vista DVD and running the repair start up option and see if it finds XP to give you the choice during startup of which you want to boot to.


This did not work at all for me. vista didn't find xp. I downloaded easybcd (freeware).


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group