Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Nov 22, 2014 9:51 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: sLOW PC
PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2004 9:49 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 6:27 am
Posts: 115
Location: nc
:twisted: Hello Players

I am having problems with my pc. XP sp 2 loads up slow and takes forever to work. I will click on an icon and it takes up to 30 seconds. I thought it was my video card, I changed it, but problem persists. At boot up I get a mesage about detecting RAID 0 and Raid 1, this takes a while too. Please help

System
SOyo KT 600 Ultra Plat.
amd 2500 barton
1 gb pc 2700
80 gb WD 8mb Cache
Nvidia 5200 video card w/256 mb
Mouse
Monitor
Keyboard
Speakers :) :? :lol:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:02 am 
Professional Dork
Professional Dork
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 1246
Location: Cornhole County
Is this a fresh install?

If not, run adaware/spybot and hijackthis to get rid of any potential spyware/malware on the system.

Other things to look for:
  • Make sure your hard drive is set to the correct speed in the BIOS. If it's an ATA100 drive, make sure the BIOS knows your Primary IDE is that speed.
  • Make sure you have the latest Via 4 in 1 drivers.
  • Make sure you're not running anything at startup.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2004 7:25 am 
Northwood
Northwood

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:38 pm
Posts: 2583
Location: Room112
could be sp2 as well. people had slow bootup problems when they installed sp2.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: sLOW PC
PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 7:32 pm 
Notched on both sides
Notched on both sides
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 12:42 pm
Posts: 2765
Location: GTW d- s+:+ a C++++ K+++ w++++
jcordova1 wrote:
:twisted: Hello Players

System
SOyo KT 600 Ultra Plat.
amd 2500 barton
1 gb pc 2700
80 gb WD 8mb Cache
Nvidia 5200 video card w/256 mb
Mouse
Monitor
Keyboard
Speakers :) :? :lol:


Aside from the fact that I'm running 1.5GB of RAM and have a GeForce FX5950, you have described my problem with SP2 entirely.

I performed a complete CLEAN install - and the problem occurred as SOON as I put SP2 on - no other apps installed, just necessary drivers and Windows updates.

Then I stole my wife's Asus MB and stuck that in there (its an A7V600). Put the mb in my case with all of my perifs, cpu, mem, etc.. and once again performed a clean install.

No Slow down.

There is something on that Soyo board that SP2 just DOES NOT LIKE...

NOTE: Had the same problem with my Shuttle board.. But that doesn't surprise me as I believe the Model number for that board was P.O.S....
:lol:


Cheers,
Tuathal
--------------
Are you Folding for a cure? Why not? Its easy, free, and doesn't hurt anyone - in fact it can only help!
I found it to be the Board. (I switched out to an ASUS board -


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.