Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sun Sep 14, 2014 8:56 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Easy language switching in Word?
PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 1:54 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 1333
Location: Where the sun sets
I do a lot of writing in Spanish as well as English and find it annoying to keep setting Spanish as the default language then switch it back to English to do an English file. I tried to just choose Spanish for individual files under Tools/Language/Set Language but Word (Office XP) doesn't apply Spanish unless I set it as a default. Since this is an annoyance issue, I figured I should post it here.

Is there a way to set languages for individual files?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 3:04 pm 
Team Member Top 100
Team Member Top 100

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 2:02 pm
Posts: 673
Location: Somewhere between here and there.
I don't know if you can set individual files or not. You can however, set up a key sequence that will flip between languages though.

Go to regional and language options in the control panel, languages tab, details, key settings. You should be able to enter a hotkey sequence to switch between Spanish/English input.

Hope that helps.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 7:21 pm 
Notched on both sides
Notched on both sides
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 12:42 pm
Posts: 2765
Location: GTW d- s+:+ a C++++ K+++ w++++
mah3 wrote:
I don't know if you can set individual files or not. You can however, set up a key sequence that will flip between languages though.

Go to regional and language options in the control panel, languages tab, details, key settings. You should be able to enter a hotkey sequence to switch between Spanish/English input.

Hope that helps.


Yup I agree completely with that, but you'll still have to also set the language in Word if you want the proofing tools to work.

I would create a simple macro that does the following actions in a file you want set for Spanish

Select All
Tools, Language, Set Language (Depending on your version)
Choosing Spanish


You could record that macro and assign it to a toolbar button for easy access (or give it a shortcut key as well).

Cheers,
Tuathal
--------------
Are you Folding for a cure? Why not? Its easy, free, and doesn't hurt anyone - in fact it can only help!


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group