Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Apr 15, 2014 11:18 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 3rd install of XP, now I need a new key?!?!?
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 1:40 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 1:30 pm
Posts: 126
Location: West Plains, MO
This could go into the SP2 after effects thread, but I didn't want this to end up being a thread-jacking.
I tried to install SP2 twice, and both times after the reboot, XP would hang on the progress screen. After the first time I did a repair install, but that left some strange glitches, so after the second try, I just backed up all my stuff and did a complete reformat. Well, after that, Windows wouldn't let me use my key anymore. It was only the third time I had used it (and it's a legal copy), so I get the pop-up window that tells me to call Microsoft to get another key.
So, the question is, has anyone ever had to actually call to get another key for a CD they've actually bought and *not* pirated, and if so, was Microsoft at least cool about it? This wouldn't have even been a problem if I hadn't tried to do the simple SP2 update. Stupid Microsoft.... :P


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3rd install of XP, now I need a new key?!?!?
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 1:48 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
RallyMK1 wrote:
So, the question is, has anyone ever had to actually call to get another key for a CD they've actually bought and *not* pirated, and if so, was Microsoft at least cool about it? This wouldn't have even been a problem if I hadn't tried to do the simple SP2 update. Stupid Microsoft.... :P


have you had any hardware change since the last time you entered your key/

yes, i've had to call m$ for reactivation on a key that i bought. just told them the old motherboard needed to be RMA'd and they gave me a new activation code.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 1:52 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 1:30 pm
Posts: 126
Location: West Plains, MO
I didn't change any of the hardware, just 3 installations.
I'll give them a call after work and see what's what.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 2:45 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
I don't think they're going to offer you a new key, but rather reset the number of repairs on the key so it activates again.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 8:15 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 1:30 pm
Posts: 126
Location: West Plains, MO
Quote:
I don't think they're going to offer you a new key, but rather reset the number of repairs on the key so it activates again.


Which is exactly what happened. It actually went pretty quickly. Not too long on hold, the lady I talked to was coherent, all in all, not a bad experience. Still wish I could use SP2 kinda.... but I guess it isn't a big deal.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 12:09 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
RallyMK1 wrote:
Which is exactly what happened. It actually went pretty quickly. Not too long on hold, the lady I talked to was coherent, all in all, not a bad experience. Still wish I could use SP2 kinda.... but I guess it isn't a big deal.


since you're already looking at a new install, i'd suggest you try slipstreaming SP2 and see if that works.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 10:40 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 1:30 pm
Posts: 126
Location: West Plains, MO
Actually, I believe my problem was that I've got a Prescott, and MS just released a patch that addresses the problem. Appearantly, it has something to do with the BIOS... but it's supposed to fix my problem.
Actually, I only think Ive got a Prescott.... it's a P4 3.0E. NewEgg.com said it was a Prescott when I ordered it, but I didn't see that written anywhere on the box. Do any of you guys know for sure? I can give you more numbers if you need them.

Oh, and that patch is here, if anyone else is interested:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=9b99c199-5d75-454f-ae07-b620727be8d8&DisplayLang=en


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 10:42 am 
Contributing Writer
Contributing Writer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 9601
Location: Land of the Lounge Lizards
Yes, you have a Prescott.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group