Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Dec 17, 2014 8:57 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Can't get XP Tweak to work
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 9:16 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 9:00 am
Posts: 6
Location: Perry Hall, MD
I am trying to get the 20% bandwidth restriction tweak to work. First, I do not have a gpedit.exe on my system. My network connection does have quality of service enabled, but it won't let me configure or do anything with it. All of the other tweaks I tried worked great.

Dennis


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't get XP Tweak to work
PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2004 12:37 pm 
BANNED
BANNED

Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 2:09 pm
Posts: 50
magnum54o2 wrote:
I am trying to get the 20% bandwidth restriction tweak to work. First, I do not have a gpedit.exe on my system. My network connection does have quality of service enabled, but it won't let me configure or do anything with it. All of the other tweaks I tried worked great.

Dennis


Maybe you should get that file you are missing.
I use Limewire, and I can get lots of files, even programs, for Windows


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2004 12:23 am 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
NO

gpedit is for XP pro,you start adding windows services from a third party download you are asking for trouble


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Can't get XP tweak to work
PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2004 9:24 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 9:00 am
Posts: 6
Location: Perry Hall, MD
Thanks anyway. It's not that big of a deal anymore. I got the new Ad Aware SE and REMed a bunch of uneeded crap out of the startup area and things are a LOT better now. Thanks!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 8:29 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 7:58 am
Posts: 16
Location: Manhattan, KS
it's not "gpedit.exe" it's "gpedit.msc" I'm running XP Pro and made this mistake when I tried doing this tweak as well. I got the tweak to go in just fine after changing the file type and now my cable connection is a whole lot faster.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 3:22 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 9:00 am
Posts: 6
Location: Perry Hall, MD
Thanks, I looked for gpedit.* but I don't have any of the gpedit files; I am using XP home. We just got a "safe" computer. Dell built, safe meaning if something goes wrong, someone ELSE has to fix it and not ME for a change. That is one plus of not building your own system. I still miss a good tweakable Abit motherboard though...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:22 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 7:58 am
Posts: 16
Location: Manhattan, KS
This file is only available in XP Pro to the best of my knowledge.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2004 4:33 pm 
Folding Momerator
Folding Momerator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 1:45 am
Posts: 15220
Can you post a link to this 20% bandwidth restriction tweak?

Thanks


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2004 5:53 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 9:00 am
Posts: 6
Location: Perry Hall, MD
Here it is. you'll have to scroll down a few, but it's here

http://www.maximumpc.com/features/featu ... 02-16.html


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 5:01 pm 
Folding Momerator
Folding Momerator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 1:45 am
Posts: 15220
Thank you!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 5:34 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
oooo i likes. dc++ is rocking now


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:46 am 
Folding Momerator
Folding Momerator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 1:45 am
Posts: 15220
I've been having connection issues with Comcast for the last week. It gets so bad I had to shut down, pull the plug on the modem for a few, then restart. So far, since I did this 20% tweak, all is well :lol:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 4:49 pm 
Folding Momerator
Folding Momerator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 1:45 am
Posts: 15220
Is there a way to do this with XP Home?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 5:19 pm 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
i dont think so, and if i remember right the 20% reserve is for a network....i dont see how 20% can hurt a 1.5-6Mbps connection when the ethernet card runs at 100Mbps,unless for some reason it will only run at 10Mbps but i dont know why it should.

dont even think about asking me about the mobo's with 10/100/1000 intergrated ethernet.

BTW:open task manager > networking tab and look at the link speed


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 4:49 pm 
Folding Momerator
Folding Momerator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 1:45 am
Posts: 15220
I was talking to some guy at Radio Shack the other night, he said there are 2 sites that have free downloads to tweak XP's connection, Speed Guide & Cable Nut. At the 1st site, your looking for TCPoptimiser (look under broadband- broadband tools). Haven't checked out the other one yet.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.