Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Sep 22, 2014 6:40 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: XP Service pack 2 and boot up time
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:27 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 4:48 pm
Posts: 535
I downloaded and installed SP 2. The first couple of reboots, it took around a minute to boot up - where before it was around 20 seconds. Now, after half a dozen reboots, it's running around 40 seconds to boot up. This doesn't seem normal to me. Has anyone else had this experience? Any solutions?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:30 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2004 3:23 pm
Posts: 1035
Location: Not where i want to be......
im running sp2 and i have not seen this problem...you should confirm that your bios is running the cpu at full speed and maybe give some more info on your computer and the problem


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:35 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 4:48 pm
Posts: 535
How do I confirm my bios is running the cpu at full speed? And how would downloading and installing SP2 have affected my bios?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 3:54 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 10:45 pm
Posts: 283
Location: Las Vegas
It wouldn't have. The only thing I noticed that's different about my booting is a Windows 2000 (and XP Pro?) - like black screen DOS screen with a grey bar advancing quickly (like 2 s) along the bottom of the screen before the Windows screen comes up. The bar is blue, where it used to be green, too.

The only thing that SP2 could do to slow boot times is maybe enable security crap that you didn't have enabled before. Without knowing more details about your system, I can't get more specific, but check the Security Center first off, and also see if there are any options you can disable and in control panel like automatic updates and system restore that you may not use.

Sounds like a stretch to go from 20 s to 40s, so check device manager to see if there is a hardware issue with Win SP2, although this isn't likely. It also could be a software thing. Maybe SP2 doesn't like a program which you have set to start with Windows and it is hanging it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 1:01 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 4:48 pm
Posts: 535
I checked device manager. Everything looks ok there. Is it possible there is a conflict with any drivers that isn't showing up in device manager?

I disabled automatic update in the security panel. Everything else in that panel looks ok.

Assuming it is a software conflict, is it only with software that loads up when the computer starts? Is the only way to identify the culprit to turn off all software that loads at bootup, and then turn each on one at a time to check?

Are there any other possible sources of the trouble?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 2:16 pm 
Northwood
Northwood
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:35 pm
Posts: 2039
Location: Houston, TX
try defragging.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 2:19 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 4:48 pm
Posts: 535
Already tried the defrag route. Didn't help.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2004 8:16 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2004 3:23 pm
Posts: 1035
Location: Not where i want to be......
the reason i said to check the bios was because maybe your fsb isnt set correctly, that is all. If you look at the screen when it first turns on and it shows you the right processer and speed right you should be good


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:37 am 
Sailorman
Sailorman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 480
Location: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Stephen wrote:
I checked device manager. Everything looks ok there. Is it possible there is a conflict with any drivers that isn't showing up in device manager?

I disabled automatic update in the security panel. Everything else in that panel looks ok.

Assuming it is a software conflict, is it only with software that loads up when the computer starts? Is the only way to identify the culprit to turn off all software that loads at bootup, and then turn each on one at a time to check?

Are there any other possible sources of the trouble?


Disabling system restore is OK especially if you have imaged your drive but disabling auto update will not speed up your boot time.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:46 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 4:48 pm
Posts: 535
So, any ideas why my boot time is stillk twice as long as before? Is there some type of utility software I can use to troubleshoot or identify the problem?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 7:35 am 
Sailorman
Sailorman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 480
Location: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Maybe your AV program is doing more checks than before during the boot process looking for virii. Maybe you could try the Free Zone alarm instead of using the windows firewall.

If your computer runs fine once it's booted I wouldn't worry about a few seconds. Many fast XP machines take 40 sec or longer to completely boot.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 7:50 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 10:11 am
Posts: 146
Location: Pembroke, Ont. Canada
Hi there

I haven't installed SP2 yet, but I'm guessing it added some junk to your startup. Here are two things that should speed up your boot times.

1) download Bootvis from here

2) find your "prefetch" folder in the windows directory and delete everything in it.

That should speed things up :)

Hope this helps


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 11:50 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 4:48 pm
Posts: 535
I had already disabled the Windows firewall, as I already have Zone Alarm.

This issue is that I made absolutely no changes other than downloading SP2, and my bootup time is now twice as long.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2004 9:27 pm 
team psycho or sumthin
team psycho or sumthin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:58 am
Posts: 6498
Location: I live on the verge of insanity
i went from 28sec to 35sec......and im on an "old" machine...athlon classic 650MHz nad an FIC SD11 mobo.....the way i see it....no biggy


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 8:54 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 1:57 pm
Posts: 564
Location: Top of California
Booradley wrote:
Hi there

I haven't installed SP2 yet, but I'm guessing it added some junk to your startup. Here are two things that should speed up your boot times.

1) download Bootvis from here

2) find your "prefetch" folder in the windows directory and delete everything in it.

That should speed things up :)

Hope this helps

I've been down that road before. First, the SP2 install clears the prefetch folder for you.

I was considering using Bootvis until I did a lot of research on it. If you have XP SP1, the functionality of Bootvis is already built in to the system.

But, to get that functionality to work there are two pre-requisites - the Scheduler service has to be turned on, and the Scheduler has to be enabled.

It monitors all of the programs that are run and updates the list in the Prefetch folder with entries for them. And, once every 3 days when the system is idle, the Scheduler fires off a hidden (invisible is more like it) task:

rundll32.exe advapi32.dll,ProcessIdleTasks

What ProcessIdleTasks does is update the Layout.ini in the prefetch folder with the .pf entries that are in the folder, then runs the command line Defrag command with the -b switch set. This is a subset of the full defrag and repositions only the boottime modules so they're more efficiently read at boot time. It reads the Layout.ini file to determine the correct disk placements.

Now here's the catch: if your like me, your PC is never truely idle, so the ProcessIdleTasks never gets run. My home PC is never idle. The PC has to be idle for about 30 minutes before that task gets run by the Scheduler. I've confirmed this on my PC at work - the task gets run while I'm at lunch.

The workaround for that is simple: Once every three days, I manually run the "rundll32.exe advapi32.dll,ProcessIdleTasks" from Start\Run. Then I follow that up with a full defrag because moving all those files around fragments a bunch of other files. Make sure you use Microsofts defrag, most of the 3rd party Defragmenters don't honor the placements in the Layout.ini file. There is one or two, but they're expensive - unless you have the $s and know which utilities I'm talking about, then use those. Nortons SpeedDisk is not one of them.


When I installed XP SP2, I initially had the same slowdown problem. Doing the little trick above restored the startup speed to pre-SP2 startup times.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 9:00 am 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:16 pm
Posts: 3600
I just leave mine on 24/7 so I dunno.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 2:10 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 4:48 pm
Posts: 535
I've tried all these suggestions. Nothing works. It still takes twice as long to bootup.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Me To!
PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 12:42 pm 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 3:23 pm
Posts: 93
The same thing has happened to me to after the sp2..my comp used to boot up in like 10 seconds now its like 30-40.. :evil: . Besides that i got no other problems...I have no clue what sp2 did either so.. :shock:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 8:53 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 8:31 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Minnesota
sp2 loads the firewall before the OS, there could be some kind of conflict with it and your bios?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 2:29 pm 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 4:48 pm
Posts: 535
In my case, I disabled the Windows Firewall. I use Zone Alarm.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group