Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 4:31 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

After installing Windows XP SP2...
Everything works fine 65%  65%  [ 33 ]
Most things work fine (just needed a few application updates) 25%  25%  [ 13 ]
Almost nothing works (all my apps needed updates) 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Complete System Failure (Windows died and/or apps won't run and can't find updates to fix them) 10%  10%  [ 5 ]
Total votes : 51
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2004 3:21 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 1:09 am
Posts: 646
Location: At newegg.com with my hands down my pants
My friend installed it and when he runs firefox his computer reboots and like.. gets to the WinXP loading screen and then it freezes and reboots again and again and again.

This never happened before he installed SP2. Could it be something microsoft did to stop people from running firefox?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2004 3:29 pm 
Sailorman
Sailorman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 480
Location: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Advil wrote:
My friend installed it and when he runs firefox his computer reboots and like.. gets to the WinXP loading screen and then it freezes and reboots again and again and again.

This never happened before he installed SP2. Could it be something microsoft did to stop people from running firefox?


Nah, I very much doubt it. They would get in way too much more legal trouble if they even thought of doing something like that.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2004 5:53 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 1:09 am
Posts: 646
Location: At newegg.com with my hands down my pants
I read on slashdot that SP2 makes Inspirons run REALLY slow. Takes the speed down from 2.6 ghz cpu's to 300 mhz.

Here's a link to the fix if you have this problem.


http://forums.us.dell.com/supportforums ... ing&page=3

I'm running an Inspiron right now and I went to the device manager and tried rolling back my driver.. It says I had none backed up.

Any ideas?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Post SP2 Outlook Express
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 7:50 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 7:31 am
Posts: 2
Location: Eugene, Oregon
For those of us that do not want image download disabled. Does anyone know how to re-enable it?

Thanks


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post SP2 Outlook Express
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 8:15 am 
Sailorman
Sailorman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 480
Location: Redmond, Oregon, USA
switchkat wrote:
For those of us that do not want image download disabled. Does anyone know how to re-enable it?

Thanks


Tools, options, security. In outlook Express.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post SP2 Outlook Express
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 8:55 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 7:31 am
Posts: 2
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Thank you sir! :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post SP2 Outlook Express
PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 9:15 am 
Sailorman
Sailorman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 480
Location: Redmond, Oregon, USA
switchkat wrote:
Thank you sir! :D


You are welcome. :mrgreen:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 12:22 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 2:53 pm
Posts: 225
Dexter wrote:
I'm still downloading the thing (I have dialup :cry: ) But soon as I do it's getting loaded onto every machine in my house.

I can't wait. I'm glad to see all the new features and security changes. I just hope they do make a differenece and help slow the tide of problems out there...


LOLOLOLOLOL the only way ur going to be able to get it on more then one comp w/out downloading 4000 times is from the disc. its not an installer. its an uodate. the disc is an installer. get it. mine came ina few days. the 4-6 weeks line on the order from is plain wrong. ORDER THE DISC ITS FREE AND BETTER THEN UPDATE!!! think about it. download a system critical prgram that could be corrupted (especcially through dial up) or a perfect clean CD? THINK ABOUT IT lol!!!!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 6:13 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 3:31 pm
Posts: 17
the_commanche wrote:
Dexter wrote:
I'm still downloading the thing (I have dialup :cry: ) But soon as I do it's getting loaded onto every machine in my house.

I can't wait. I'm glad to see all the new features and security changes. I just hope they do make a differenece and help slow the tide of problems out there...


LOLOLOLOLOL the only way ur going to be able to get it on more then one comp w/out downloading 4000 times is from the disc. its not an installer.


that's not true...

download this
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 10:59 am 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
Holy Shit, SP2 fucked half my shit up.

My laptop has been down for over 3 weeks after it's primary drive failed on me, but it was still under warrenty and I RMA'd it back and got a shiny new one. So I go to reinstall XP and then SP2 (got my SP2 disc in the mail about a week and a half ago), however after installing SP2 a lot of programs and even device drivers were having problems changing the registry (Note: all of these worked just fine with SP1a).

All in all I had 7 programs (Including Office 97 Pro, and no I can't spare the $300 to upgrade it nor do I want to) not install and 2 device drivers that refused to install because it appears there's some bogus shit in SP2 that seems to be preventing non-MS certified shit from writing to the registry.

BLARG.

So I'm reinstalling XP again as I type this but have no intention of going through that %$#&ing nightmare again.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:16 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:44 am
Posts: 137
+My USB 2.0 card is not recognized as a USB 2 card
+ It doesn't recognize my external USB 2.0 enclosure!

F :twisted: !!!


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group