Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Oct 01, 2014 6:43 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Way to monitor hard drive SMART test though network?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 8:31 am 
Coppermine
Coppermine

Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 2:18 pm
Posts: 689
Location: South Elgin IL
I am looking to see if it is possible to monitor smart data for approx 250-300 machines on our work network. What we are looking for is very small program or something that will just sent the SMART info to some Windows based machine on our network. A huge bonus would be if it could tell us hard drive size and how much space is being used.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Way to monitor hard drive SMART test though network?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 5:58 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
No, I can't help you...but you're wrong in thinking that SMART monitoring will help a single drive let alone 300 others.

SMART, sucks.

It's told us all that it's safe and fails. It's also told us that we fail and we need to buy drives. Be a good IT guy and don't believe in SMART. Good IT guys have a backup for every drive. You know what a Mirror is right?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Way to monitor hard drive SMART test though network?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 6:20 pm 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 11:07 pm
Posts: 2622
Location: NC
If you have that many computers to manage, why do you not have a SAS and have all of your important data in a centralized location? That why the pc's are just a terminal, specially considering enterprise software is switching over to server sided cloud apps that are accessible through a web browser.

And I agree, SMART sucks. Hard drives will fail without warning most of the time.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Way to monitor hard drive SMART test though network?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 7:58 pm 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 6328
Location: Far away from you
JBaz wrote:
If you have that many computers to manage, why do you not have a SAS and have all of your important data in a centralized location?


They probably are. They're looking to monitor 300 individual workstations.

The way you're talking, you're wanting some sort of stateless machine sitting there that opens a VM when started.... Not exactly inexpensive if you don't want use the existing machines that started the question to begin with....

I've seen some home brewed SNMP tools that can do this....not that it offered anything useful though...by the time anything was recorded the drive was already tango umbrella.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.