Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 1:14 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: anyone have ESET Smart Security on their home server?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:59 pm 
Willamette
Willamette

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:17 pm
Posts: 1479
Does anyone has ESET Smart Security 4 or 5 on their Windows Home Server?
If so, does it work OK or do you have problems?

Reason is because I have a 3-user pack, and my intent was to put a copy on a home server I'm considering redoing (if at all), but ESET recommends not to use Smart SEcurity, but to use NOD32 because of potential firewall conflicts. Has anyone tried to put SmartSecurity 4 or 5 on their Windows Home Server boxes?

I want to see if it will work with SmartSecurity 5, before I go out and spend more money on another license for a copy of NOD32 (something I may not even need).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: anyone have ESET Smart Security on their home server?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 11:44 am 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
I thought about this randomly while walking around at work CB. I'm not a windows genius by far, but I feel that claim is for the default MS firewall turned on and playing with other firewalls. Smart security is a package deal where Nod32 is a very robust Anti-virus only program.

What I ponder, and am really unsure of, is if you turn the WHS firewall off and use Smart Security's instead. Then, there's only one firewall in play with no issues. However, I feel the WHS' firewall is deeper than that and what allows you to connect in the first place and be a stable server.

I'm looking at the package and don't see it's value on a home server though. I'd save it for another personal build (got a garage? It needs an old computer in it, STAT!). A WHS doesn't need Anti-Malware protection because you're not cruising the internet on it and just use the dashboard interface, has a good 2-way firewall, MS's antivirus is really good and free, don't need anti-spam unless you're hosting a mail server on it too, Parental controls are in the Client OS's and also in routers, and have no idea what "Security Training" is.

Basically, I just come to the conclusion that it's not made for a server and there's other options for free. You can toss Nod32 on there just because, but I'm not getting attacked on any WHS version ever used even when ran bare. MS security essentials does fine as long as you set up your network well in the router and not freely hand out accounts on the interwebs.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: anyone have ESET Smart Security on their home server?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 8:53 pm 
Willamette
Willamette

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:17 pm
Posts: 1479
No, the WHS accounts would only be used by me (either in-home or remotely through my laptop--don't plan to give any of the logins/accounts out to anyone).

I may try the Nod32 30-day trial to see how it goes. I do agree that I should save the SmartSEcurity for another PC (God knows I'll probably run across one sooner or later that needs AV and Security software).

I just haven't ever been a big fan of the firewalls that MS puts in their products. I would assume they would invest more time and effort into their server products, since they are geared towards businesses and security is a primary concern of any business (yes, I know WHS is for home users, but it still based on Windows 2008 Server as its core OS, from what I'm told).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: anyone have ESET Smart Security on their home server?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 8:55 pm 
Willamette
Willamette

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 12:17 pm
Posts: 1479
On another note, can you configure WHS to act like a normal server would, in that when you log into Windows in your desktop, it automatically connects you to a network share, sort of like it does for true Windows server environments where there are servers and clients (meaning, for example, your My Documents folder would appear to be on your computer, but in reality is synced with the server when you log off, like it does for the full blown version of Windows Server 2008)?


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group