Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 5:44 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Vista Question.
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 3:25 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 11:46 am
Posts: 162
Ok so I have been doing so looking and tinkering, and I have decided to start testing system requirements claims. Here is the first question of hopefully many.


Will this build run Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium.

Intel Celeron @ 2.00 GHz
512 MB DDR 133
Intel Board D845GRG
ASUS ATI Radeon 9250 GE, 256 MB (AGP x8 @ x4)
150 GB Seagate (BS OLD CRAP) HDD

I will be doing the testing today, and depending on the amount of responses I get I will post the results tonight.

Bonus Question, will this build run 3d mark 03 ?


-Cody


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vista Question.
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 4:57 pm 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 9:26 am
Posts: 4748
Location: Dixon Springs, TN
According to this: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... quirements

512mb of memory is the minimum to run Vista.
Now let me tell you that when Microsoft says minimum, they mean it will barely run. I wouldn't want to try with anything less than 2 GB of memory.
I wouldn't want to try running XP on 512 mb.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vista Question.
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 5:57 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 11:46 am
Posts: 162
dedgar wrote:
According to this: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... quirements

512mb of memory is the minimum to run Vista.
Now let me tell you that when Microsoft says minimum, they mean it will barely run. I wouldn't want to try with anything less than 2 GB of memory.
I wouldn't want to try running XP on 512 mb.


Also note that that is home basic, further they want you to have Directx 9 I am testing with a card that is 8.1


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vista Question.
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:50 am 
SON OF A GUN
SON OF A GUN
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:41 am
Posts: 11605
dedgar wrote:
According to this: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... quirements

512mb of memory is the minimum to run Vista.
Now let me tell you that when Microsoft says minimum, they mean it will barely run. I wouldn't want to try with anything less than 2 GB of memory.
I wouldn't want to try running XP on 512 mb.


I'd say that is a little extreme friend, XP would be perfectly happy with 512MB. Even 256MB.

However, you are right on Vista, that thing is a pig dog and honestly isn't worth trying on that system at all.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.