Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Nov 29, 2014 2:30 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Windows 7 slipstream
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:42 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:23 am
Posts: 14
In the good ol days of Windows XP I know that you were able to run programs like nlite to slipstream service packs into an OS so that you didn't have to use the pain which is Windows Update. I now have Windows 7 Pro and yet another service pack has come out for this operating system. I have done my own searching on the internet but can't find anything that will allow me to take my OS disc and burn another disc with the service pack already pre-installed. Have any of you heard of anything that works with Windows 7 or will their be a wait? I know that MaximumPC has done features in the past in their publication regarding this DIY. Thanks to all that respond!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 7 slipstream
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 8:35 am 
Malware specialist
Malware specialist
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 12:49 pm
Posts: 11696
Location: Kansas City, KS
You can use RT Se7en Lite to accomplish that.

However, the disk will most likely be larger than a standard DVD, so you may need to split the disk somehow.

You might be able to use HJSplit to split the ISO. I haven't tried, so no idea on that.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 7 slipstream
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:36 pm 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:44 am
Posts: 2681
Location: Up in you attic...Wi-Fi is delicious
I actually just did this. (Was looking for a reason for a clean install). Firstly, you need Version 2.00+ (beta) to slipstream your version (x86/x64). I used that exact same program, and honestly it was painfully slow. Almost like slowly pulling teeth, but it worked nonetheless. I didn't look for a manual way which might be faster so I just ran with it. You might find WIAK would be faster, but I didn't try that method.

I just made a x64 disc and the resulting ISO was ~3.7 GB, so it will definitely fit on a regular DVD. You can make a DVD, image or even to a usb drive, so plenty of options in that program. (Much like Vlite/nLite). Just a word of caution on the time it takes to make such disc with this utility. It's still in beta, its slow, but it works. I actually ended up manually putting it on a usb drive, since I'm certain that they verify after (7Lite) they copy over.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 7 slipstream
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:43 pm 
Malware specialist
Malware specialist
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 12:49 pm
Posts: 11696
Location: Kansas City, KS
Airheadq wrote:
I actually just did this. (Was looking for a reason for a clean install). Firstly, you need Version 2.00+ (beta) to slipstream your version (x86/x64). I used that exact same program, and honestly it was painfully slow. Almost like slowly pulling teeth, but it worked nonetheless. I didn't look for a manual way which might be faster so I just ran with it. You might find WIAK would be faster, but I didn't try that method.

I just made a x64 disc and the resulting ISO was ~3.7 GB, so it will definitely fit on a regular DVD. You can make a DVD, image or even to a usb drive, so plenty of options in that program. (Much like Vlite/nLite). Just a word of caution on the time it takes to make such disc with this utility. It's still in beta, its slow, but it works. I actually ended up manually putting it on a usb drive, since I'm certain that they verify after (7Lite) they copy over.


That's weird.

My ISO turned out to 5.75GB.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 7 slipstream
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:45 pm 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:44 am
Posts: 2681
Location: Up in you attic...Wi-Fi is delicious
I slipsteamed x64 SP1 into a plain retail Windows 7 x64. Are you sure you didn't make a x64/x86 disc?

Edit: I did remove the pre-installed songs, but I doubt they were over a gig. :lol:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 7 slipstream
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 3:02 pm 
Malware specialist
Malware specialist
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 12:49 pm
Posts: 11696
Location: Kansas City, KS
Airheadq wrote:
I slipsteamed x64 SP1 into a plain retail Windows 7 x64. Are you sure you didn't make a x64/x86 disc?

Edit: I did remove the pre-installed songs, but I doubt they were over a gig. :lol:


Positive.

I'm going to try re-running the program, maybe it was a glitch. The OS size the program reports is 3.85GB though. Not sure what it's doing to gain the extra size. I didn't even slipstream SP1.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 7 slipstream
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:14 pm 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:44 am
Posts: 2681
Location: Up in you attic...Wi-Fi is delicious
hackman2007 wrote:
Airheadq wrote:
I slipsteamed x64 SP1 into a plain retail Windows 7 x64. Are you sure you didn't make a x64/x86 disc?

Edit: I did remove the pre-installed songs, but I doubt they were over a gig. :lol:


Positive.

I'm going to try re-running the program, maybe it was a glitch. The OS size the program reports is 3.85GB though. Not sure what it's doing to gain the extra size. I didn't even slipstream SP1.

Went here and downloaded the x64 version. Then the RT7 2.6. The plain Windows 7 image wasn't that large to begin with. Whats the size for your plain Windows 7 image?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 7 slipstream
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:21 pm 
Malware specialist
Malware specialist
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 12:49 pm
Posts: 11696
Location: Kansas City, KS
Airheadq wrote:
hackman2007 wrote:
Airheadq wrote:
I slipsteamed x64 SP1 into a plain retail Windows 7 x64. Are you sure you didn't make a x64/x86 disc?

Edit: I did remove the pre-installed songs, but I doubt they were over a gig. :lol:


Positive.

I'm going to try re-running the program, maybe it was a glitch. The OS size the program reports is 3.85GB though. Not sure what it's doing to gain the extra size. I didn't even slipstream SP1.

Went here and downloaded the x64 version. Then the RT7 2.6. The plain Windows 7 image wasn't that large to begin with. Whats the size for your plain Windows 7 image?


The original size was 3.85GB. However, when I put the disk in and right click on it, it shows about 5.72GB. If I drag the files to my desktop from the DVD, it also shows 5.72GB.

This is what the program reports:
OS Name:Windows 7 HOMEPREMIUM
OS Description:Windows 7 HOMEPREMIUM
Architecture:64-bit
OS Size:3.85 GB
Language:English (United States)
Version:6.1.7600.16385


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 7 slipstream
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 11:50 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:23 am
Posts: 14
I am gonna try this program as well and get back to you guys with what my results are... thanks again!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 7 slipstream
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 8:26 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24345
Location: South of heaven
1.05G is what SP1 takes. What is on a Windows 7 64-bit disc? Basic math...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 7 slipstream
PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 2:14 pm 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:44 am
Posts: 2681
Location: Up in you attic...Wi-Fi is delicious
Different features, different sizes. I used the windows6.1-KB976932-X64.exe ( 903.2MB) in my install. Not a gig yet.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 7 slipstream
PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:55 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:23 am
Posts: 14
the program worked well and I was able to create a new Windows 7 SP1 disc on a normal DvD disc. I have yet to try and install it but I will do that this weekend.... Thanks to all for your help


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.