Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Sep 20, 2014 2:52 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Installing new HD with new OS question
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:39 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 1:07 pm
Posts: 24
I am planning on upgrading the 60GB HD to a 320 GB HD, when I do I also would like to install a new OS to get rid off all the bloatware HP programs that are on the system. Is installing a new OS on a new HD the same as with a desktop? Can I install the OS and then download the drivers. I want to take my slow system and make it quicker. Any info would be greatly appreciated.



----------------
Now playing: Snake Sedrick - Fields [Blue Haze Vocal Mix]
via FoxyTunes


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing new HD with new OS question
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:49 am 
Million Club
Million Club

Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:37 pm
Posts: 639
Yes, installing an OS is the same between a desktop and a laptop, the question comes down to which OS are you installing? Version? SP level?

Do you have retail install disk(s) or recovery disk(s)?

On a laptop, I would download and unpack all of the drivers that are available on the hardware makers website and either burn them to a CD or write them to a flash drive, you may not have internet access after the install.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:50 am 
Team Creamsicles
Team Creamsicles
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 7:06 pm
Posts: 3702
Location: Pennsylvania
If the OS disk is truely an OS disk, then yes, you could put a clean install on the new drive, but if it's just an image of the hard drive, you'll be in the same place as getting a new computer with tons of bloatware.

If the latter is true, look up PC Decrapifyer. It'll take all the bloatware, and uninstall it for you :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:55 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 1:07 pm
Posts: 24
I have a HP with XP 32 bit. It's a laptop I got from school that is now mine, free and clear. I am going to pick up a 320GB WD and snag a OEM of XP SP3 from newegg. There was no recovery disk or OS disk when I picked up the laptop.



----------------
Now playing: Jaidene Veda - Come From [Nick & John Dalagelis Unreleased Vocal Mix]
via FoxyTunes


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 12:11 pm 
Million Club
Million Club

Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:37 pm
Posts: 639
If the drive will fit and BIOS can recognize the larger drive, you may want to check with HP about this, then you may need to have SATA drivers on a floppy disk for F6 during the XP setup, or slipstream them with Nlite.

If you boot from the disk and the setup says it cannot find a hard drive, then you need to use F6 and/or slipstream the driver.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 12:20 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 1:07 pm
Posts: 24
Roger that, thanks for the info.



----------------
Now playing: Hybrid - Higher Than a Skyscraper [Satoshi Tomiie Mix]
via FoxyTunes


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 12:24 pm 
Million Club
Million Club

Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:37 pm
Posts: 639
No problem, if you help with nlite, etc. please ask.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 6:40 pm 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 6:22 pm
Posts: 4406
Location: In the closet
Tweaks via pre-install:
http://www.nliteos.com
http://www.ryanvm.net/msfn

Tweaks via post-install:
http://www.pcdecrapifier.com
http://www.totalidea.com
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/Down ... rtoys.mspx


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 2:26 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 8:44 pm
Posts: 40
As long as you can at least get all of your drivers for your PC after upgrading your HDD, that is the next thing I would look at.

Another thing, and this usually helps -- most manufacturers would offer CD's that have the right drivers for your computer, at least HP had the right ones for my notebook. Basically, ordering a CD with the drivers, coming out of an HDD upgrade, works wonders.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:51 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 1:07 pm
Posts: 24
Update: I have 4GB of 677MHz Corsair RAM and 320GB of Western Digital HD goodness installed now. Windows XP Home is also installed. Yes there was a problem with installing the OS, the BIOS did not see the HD. After talking with HP, the SATA option was disabled and the install proceeded without a hitch. It now looks like I would have to upgrade the BIOS if I were to install one of Intel's T7xxx chips. "And now you know....the rest of the story." Paul Harvey

Thank you everyone for the advice and info.


----------------
Now playing: Megadeth - Symphony of Destruction
via FoxyTunes


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2009 9:05 am 
8086
8086
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 1:52 pm
Posts: 12
It's exactly the same, the cd key on the laptop is usable with all other discs of the same OS. If OEM is there, it just means no fancy packaging, an envelope. OEM hardware is one of the easier ways to go if you're going into a store, since all there is to unwrap is anti-static packaging.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group