Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Dec 27, 2014 1:33 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Seeking to upgrade my notebook to an AMD X2?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:14 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 8:44 pm
Posts: 40
As usual, I am running a Compaq Presario V5305WM with a one-core 2GHz mobile AMD sempron. I'm looking everywhere to see how many pins on the chip I have and compare that to the number of pins on most X2 chips and to see if they would even fit. In other words, I am seeking to upgrade. 32-bit or 64-bit, I ain't worried - I can always find ways of getting hardware and programs to behave.

I been searching for information on both sides, now I'm stumped. But may I ask, is it possible? What is it going to take (besides buying or trading my notebook for a different one) to upgrade to an X2? I'm a little lost.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:19 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
Sub $500 notebooks are rarely, if ever, upgradable CPU wise.

One thing to do is take a look to see if there were other (faster) CPU options that were offered on your model, that can sometimes indicate whether or not the notebook can be upgraded.

Unfortunately after looking at the specs I'd say you're SOL in terms of upgrading and your options are back to buying/trading.


http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/docu ... ct=3231960


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 8:28 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 8:44 pm
Posts: 40
I read an online PDF of the manual for my notebook, and it said the best CPU it can take is a 2.2 GHz AMD Turion 64 ML-40.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 9:46 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
symbolic X wrote:
I read an online PDF of the manual for my notebook, and it said the best CPU it can take is a 2.2 GHz AMD Turion 64 ML-40.


Got it, page 5-65 in the service manual.

Still not possible to get an X2 in there. The reason is the chips that your laptop can accept (Mobile Sempron, Turion 64 ML) are all socket 754, which is what your laptop is equipped with. The Turion 64 X2 that you'd like to stick in there requires socket S1.


Looks like the Turion 64 ML-44 is the best chip you can squeeze in there as it has the same voltage and thermal dissapation as the ML-40 (35Watts).


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.