Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 7:09 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Laptop and external HD
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 9:58 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 4:02 pm
Posts: 141
Location: right here
I have a new Inspiron laptop with Vista Home Premium. I am about to deploy to a large sandbox. Upon arrival, my HD will be wiped and have XP Pro installed along with software that the military deems necesary. It will again be wiped when I leave. My question is if I put all my software on an external drive(installed via Vista), will it work after they install XP? Will the software installed with Vista still work properly on XP? :?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:14 pm 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 4:12 pm
Posts: 1273
Location: AL
what i would recommend you do is make an image of the drive right before you leave. If there is some specific software you need while you are deployed take the install with you and while you are gone.

Any specific files you need at the end of your term before you come home, I would recommend saving on the external or a flash drive.


Chances are a program installed with vista on an external would not work when tried to run on an xp system. The registry edits a program makes when it installs would not be there, and I am pretty sure the edits made on an xp system is different from the vista versions.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:42 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 4:02 pm
Posts: 141
Location: right here
Thanks Massimo!

How about this... If I install programs on the external via XP Home from my desktop will it work? You mentioned the registry would be different between XP and Vista. Is there a difference between XP Home and XP Pro?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:13 pm 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 4:12 pm
Posts: 1273
Location: AL
There are, but i couldn't tell you what they are.

I think making an image is your best bet.

If you want to start goofing around with the registry, there are a few programs that will compare registry files for you. What you would need to do is save your registry before you install the software, and then again after you install. Then compare those files to fine what was changed and use that to make your modifications.

If you do get deep into this, you might want to make a thread in the OS area for more help.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:31 pm 
Team Creamsicles
Team Creamsicles
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 7:06 pm
Posts: 3702
Location: Pennsylvania
Some might work. but most probably won't. When I dual booted Vista with XP on my laptop, I had Adobe acrobat, Photoshop CS3, and Office 03 installed in vista, then I booted into xp and none of them worked.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:52 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 4:02 pm
Posts: 141
Location: right here
Thanks guys!

Massimo, what you suggest is way over my head. I'm not computer savy enough to mess with registries and I'm not entirely sure what Imaging means. So, I guess I will just take the disks with me (hopefully they won't get lost or damaged) and install them there. I just wish I was a wee bit more better smarter... :(


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:07 pm 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 4:12 pm
Posts: 1273
Location: AL
Best of luck an be safe.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 12:46 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 7:44 pm
Posts: 235
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Hey Divemaster,

I'm sure you can figure out imaging, especially if you decide to shell out $50 on a retail product like Acronis True Image.

It's pretty straight-forward, you run the program, with an external drive or another internal drive attached. I'm sure they have an easy, one button push and forget setting. It will go just the way Massimo was saying, with all your programs and saved files as they were when you created the image. When you restore, you will likely run some version of Acronis that can be booted (usually a CD) and with the external drive attached again, you can use the one button trick again to have your laptop back the way it was before you left.

There are even free programs out there, but I can't vouch for their ease of use. http://www.thefreecountry.com/utilities/backupandimage.shtml

Thanks for serving our country, BTW. Take care of yourself!


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.