Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:09 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Help with laptop ram.
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 5:40 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 3:50 pm
Posts: 1344
Location: Illinois
I have an older gateway laptop. I would like to add more memory. And I don't know what kind to get. All I know is it needs to be an SO-DIMM.

I opened the little pannel under it to see what was already in it. the spots were empty.

My guess would be PC100 or PC133 SO-DIMM 144pin

I just want to know what it most likly is.

Its an old celeron 233Mhz, 32MB of memory


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help with laptop ram.
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 6:02 pm 
There is no cause for alarm... yet
There is no cause for alarm... yet

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 10:50 am
Posts: 626
Location: Vancouver Island
sflshooter wrote:
My guess would be PC100 or PC133 SO-DIMM 144pin

I just want to know what it most likly is.

Its an old celeron 233Mhz, 32MB of memory


What brand and model?

If it's that old, I doubt it's PC133 though there shouldn't be an issue if you used PC133 if the board is PC100. But PC100 in PC133, I've seen some systems not boot - Toshibas only though.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2004 3:11 am 
Chief Surgeon
Chief Surgeon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 1:24 am
Posts: 6701
Location: M*A*S*H 4077, Korea
It's probably more like PC66 SoDIMM Memory. Knowing that era, you might be able to stuff 128Mb per slot, if you're lucky. PC100 memory for laptops will work at 100MHz and 66MHz. However, certain brands of PC133 memory won't clock down to PC66 or even PC100 speeds.

Your best bet would be to obtain the make and model of your Gateway, and go here to find exactly what you can use, and how much.

SC64


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help with laptop ram.
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 12:57 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
sflshooter wrote:
Its an old celeron 233Mhz, 32MB of memory


It's either 12ns PC66 SDRAM, or 50ns EDO.

My guess is probably 50ns EDO because of the age of the CPU, and the fact that it's a Celeron means it was probably a budget system so they would have gone with the older and cheaper 50ns EDO rather then the newer and faster PC66 SDRAM.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: thanks
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 1:15 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 3:50 pm
Posts: 1344
Location: Illinois
thanks guys I got some PC66 sdram for it and it works great


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:51 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 298
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
I didn't feel like making a new thread so here is my question.

Does upgrading from 512MB to 1GB really make a big difference in gaming?

Specifically, what will be noticable in gaming? Load times, any in-game performance gains? I'm not really sure if I should upgrade or not. $170 is a lot of money for me(currently an unemployed student). Unless I can sell the current 512MB(1 year old). How much do you think I could sell it for?

And last:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDe ... 106&depa=0
This is the most popular RAM on newegg with a good rating, maybe because its cheap, is it good in your opinion?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 2:17 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
Stick wrote:
Does upgrading from 512MB to 1GB really make a big difference in gaming?

Specifically, what will be noticable in gaming?


I've gone from 1GB to 2GB recently and the map load times in UT2k4 have dropped significantly. Also I noticed that when I'm connecting to a server it's gotten faster (which seems to make no sense to me), maybe more of the Unreal engine loaded itself into RAM or something.

I've also got Neverwinter Nights installed on that system but I haven't played it in a while, haven't checked it out to see if the extra RAM made a difference.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 3:33 pm 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 2:48 pm
Posts: 1500
Location: OhWell, NowWhat
A lot of it depends on how much memory the game itself uses. Battlefield Vietnam uses over 600MB when it's loading a map, and when someone upgrades from 512 to 1GB they will notice a definite improvement. I'm not aware of any games that use more than 1GB of RAM at present, but have a look at your task manager once in a while when you're loading games. If the process is using 250MB or more, it's probably worth your while to upgrade.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group