Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sun Dec 28, 2014 7:20 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: compaq armada e500 - upgrading hard drive?
PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2005 5:39 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:59 pm
Posts: 245
i want to upgrade the hard drive on my compaq armada e500 to something larger than 10gb. i've found hard drives online that are advertised as being compatible with this laptop but they are usually more expensive than ones i find that aren't. what should i watch out for to try and be sure the drive i get is compatible since i've never upgraded a hd on a laptop before? the specs on the drive that are in the system right now are as follows (from the compaq service manual):

user capacity: 10GB
Drive type: 65
Drive height (with drive frame, in mm): 9.5
Drive width (with drive frame, in mm): 70.0
2.5 inch formfactor: yes
Sector interleave: 1:1
Interface type: ATA-4
Disk Rotational Speed (rpm): 4200

i left out things like transfer rates and seek times and cylinders and heads cause i didn't think it's relevant but let me know if it is. so obviously i need to buy a 2.5" drive that has roughly the same dimensions (or at least isn't much larger). what about rpm's though? is 7200 ok or should i stick to 5400 or even 4200 like the original (shudder)? please help, i'm a total noob at laptop upgrading :oops:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2005 10:28 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:59 pm
Posts: 245
this is the one i'm looking at...anyone see any problems?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6822152503


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 10:10 am 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
Problem #1 - It's made by Samsung. Now, don't get me wrong, they make great LCDs, Plasmas, and DDR memory, however their HDDs leave a lot to be desired. If you want a good boost in speed look for the 7,200 RPM 60GB Toshiba and see if they're making it with a 16MB cache rather then the standard 8MB.

Problem #2 - There's no height listed in the newegg ad. If that turns out to be a 12mm drive, you're SOL because you need a 9.5mm drive.


My recommendation =
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6822149020

It's 9.5mm, it's got a slightly better latency then the Samsung, double the cache then the Samsung, and the 3 year warrenty would be a lot more desirable over the Samsung's 1 year warrenty. But I'll let you decide if that's worth the extra $15. :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 5:18 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:59 pm
Posts: 245
agreed...that is a better drive. where does it say that it's 9.5mm? (i'm assuming it is since it's "slim") thanks though...i'll be getting that drive i think. any forseeable problems installing it in an older system like this?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 5:42 pm 
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
King of All Voodoo2 Cards
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 10:41 am
Posts: 9316
krazy_kenny1 wrote:
agreed...that is a better drive. where does it say that it's 9.5mm? (i'm assuming it is since it's "slim") thanks though...i'll be getting that drive i think. any forseeable problems installing it in an older system like this?


All the Toshiba 2.5" drives are 9.5mm.

I replaced a 30GB, 4,200, 2MB drive with a 40GB, 5,400, 16MB drive with no problem. Sped things up a lot.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 6:08 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:59 pm
Posts: 245
Flytrap7 wrote:
krazy_kenny1 wrote:
agreed...that is a better drive. where does it say that it's 9.5mm? (i'm assuming it is since it's "slim") thanks though...i'll be getting that drive i think. any forseeable problems installing it in an older system like this?


All the Toshiba 2.5" drives are 9.5mm.

I replaced a 30GB, 4,200, 2MB drive with a 40GB, 5,400, 16MB drive with no problem. Sped things up a lot.

cool thanks...now if my new power adapter will get here so i can turn the laptop on.... :roll:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 10:24 am 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:59 pm
Posts: 245
hard drive has been in for about a week and is dual booting xp and gentoo beautifully (50GB for xp and 30GB for gentoo)...started compiling open office last night and it's still going grrrr...anyways, thanks for the suggestion. it appears to be working fine.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.