Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sun Aug 31, 2014 1:51 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Do I really 4 ocres, or is 2 enough
PostPosted: Fri Nov 05, 2010 4:23 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2008 9:22 am
Posts: 99
Yeah I know, way wrong place to ask, as this the home of power users :roll:

However, after having a 17" laptop in my lap, and then my wife's new 14" laptop I have come to the conclusion, that I can live(quite well apparently) with only a 14" screen. So the question becomes this, since performance is #1, and it does not appear that any 2.0ghz+ non-turbo 4 core mobile processors are coming out anytime soon, is a dual core i5 @ 2.66ghz going to perform faster than a 4 core i7 @ 1.86 ghz, in apps that require a min dual core proc, or apps that don't care about the number of cores? I intend to run anything I buy for a loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong time. Probably well beyond design life, whatever the hell that is for laptops...

Of course then the graphics comes into play, but it looks like I can get a gt335m 1gb i7 only (Xoticpc), or gt420m 1gb(Dell) with an i5. The i7 would be a gt425m 2gb(Dell).

I will consider a 15" notebook, but if it is much bigger than 14.75"l x 10"w I don't think I want to do it. This thing is going to spend a bunch of time in my lap(can't believe I haven't discovered the joys of mobile computing before now :shock: ) and the 17" laptop I have kinda sucks. Of course when it is equal to 5% of my own weight, it's not gonna be fun is it...

Planned use for laptop(and based on my experience with the software I intend to run it should be just fine):

car ECU tuning/datalogging
CAD/CAM
games(Civ IV/V mostly)
internet
e-mail
playing video/music


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do I really 4 ocres, or is 2 enough
PostPosted: Fri Nov 05, 2010 7:34 pm 
Million Club [PC]
Million Club [PC]
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 11:38 am
Posts: 7690
CAD/CAM really benefits from 4 cores, but everything else you listed would be better off with two faster cores, so it depends how often you use CAD programs and how much you value good performance in whatever CAD app you use.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do I really 4 ocres, or is 2 enough
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 6:21 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2008 9:22 am
Posts: 99
All the CAD/CAM software I am looking at does not seem to benefit from multiple cores. It doesn't specify that it will utilize them, and certainly does not say it requires 2 cores like Civ V.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group