Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 9:00 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Need Advice on Career Path
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 9:20 pm 

Alright people, I like so many others desire to work in a computer related field. Presently, I have a BS in elementary education and have about three years experience. Computers, in no short way, is my passion. Teaching has its rewards but the demands of grading papers from 5-12 each night for months on end as well as the bureaucracy involved leave me unfulfilled. I build and repair systems for myself and friends as well maintain systems at work. I also maintain my school's website. Each night I spend my free time trying new operating systems or doing various tasks with computers. So basically, I have a large amount of knowledge in using applications, system set setups, diagnosing hardware problems, and operating system settings. I'm not looking to be rich by any means. I mean, hello I'm a teacher, that's 70k maxed at 30 years experience and over. But I have no real experience in programming. I simply would like to help people with computer problems in a hands on environment. Meaning applications, hardware diagnostics, and training others.

Would I be completely ludicrous in approaching a company for an internship. Because I have my summers free and my salary is stretched over the year I could potentially work with little or no pay in hopes of gaining experience.

What would you suggest as a career path for my scenario?

thanks,
edgesitter

Post subject: Re: Need Advice on Career Path
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 10:08 am 
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000
Bitchin' Fast 3D Z8000

Well, due to your somewhat unique schedule, you might be able to swing a summer internship quite easily.