Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 2:30 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Got a promotion in my job
PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:22 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

I work as a customer rep in a computer store and now i have been given a promotion as a computer tech. The thing is i forgot alot about since i slacked off like for 2 years. ANy suggestions on how to deal with this?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:50 pm 
Willamette
Willamette

First thing to do is a Self Assessment.

1) Find out your job responsibilities. "Computer tech" can mean different things in different places. First Tier, Second Tier, etc. Fixing hardware vs fixing software, vs building computers for clients vs building computers for the company, etc.
2) Find out what you need to do to meet those responsibilities.
3) Quiz and test yourself on items to meet those responsibilities. Areas that you are weak in, train yourself on.

You'll probably be in a learn on the job situation, so see if there are mentor type folks around that you can ask questions when you are stuck on things.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 1:01 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Most customers come in to get their hdd repaired because it died.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 3:46 pm 
Willamette
Willamette

Ok, so you're up with the insides of computers? You know what goes where? What're you going to do if you get someone who wants to put some brand spankin new DDR3 memory on a 680i motherboard for example?

A+ certification books might help out here if you don't already have a certification. The last one I've seen was a bit dated technologywise, but it's good as a refresher.

Other things to do, evaluate your customer service persona. You said you were a customer rep before, so you probably have experience talking to the customer. Is that up to par for a position where you may have to say "Sorry, your data's all gone"?