Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 12:11 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Computer Technician
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 12:48 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Can someone make a living from being a pc tech? like earning 35000 per year?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 12:26 pm 

I suppose, but you will want to grow with time. The pc tech thing will get old and so will the money as you get older and have to support more people in your family. You will probably move into networking in one form or another. Do not be stagnet, grow.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:22 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

actually im majoring in computer science. But if the job is boring or if i cant get hire in at least 2 years i might just be a pc tech.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 7:02 am 

We do what we need to in order to survive. You should be ok with your degree. if you get bored, get some certs. Do you know what you want to do in IT if you had a choice. It sounds like tech is a last options. I am sure you would like desktop support more then computer tech. You get to move around more instead of being trapped at a work bench. That is why I did not go into programing in the old days. Just was not the sit at the desk all day type of guy.
I am not sure where you live. Here is Silicon valley 35k should be ok for a pc tech ( it is a starting position generally speaking). I am not sure if you are asking if the job will pay 35k or if you know already it does pay 35k. I guess there is alot I do not know a.g. if you are 20ish going to school or 40ish like me and going to school. I like working on computers. I hope you do also. Finish school regardless. I bytes working, going to school and being old. LOL. I hope you are one of those smart , young wipper-snappers. Life will be easier doing 2 things at the same time if you have to, but school in number one. By the way, did I say, go to school ?