Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Sat Sep 20, 2014 1:21 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Is this a good idea, or just overkill?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 10:20 pm 

Hey everyone, thanks for keeping such a great board!

My question is this: I'm currently a freshman in college, pursuing a bachelor's degree and eventually a masters in Computer Science. I plan on finishing at least the BS, and then the masters over time. However, I'm really interested in working to obtain a couple of certifications (A+ at first, then maybe two or three more advanced ones). Would it be a good idea to pursue these certs while I'm still in college, or should I wait till after? Or is getting the certs on top of a degree just overkill and I won't really need it? I really love working on computers , but I also would like do something in programming. I know that certs don't really help for programmers, but I'd like to leave my options open in case coding doesn't work out. Please let me know how yall feel about it! Thanks a lot ahead of time!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 11:39 pm 
Team Member
Team Member

Well, you are correct in your assesment that cert's do not help programmers. Although people with MCAD's might disagree with my opinion. :)
A few questions:
1) Does your schooll offer a combined BSCS/MSCS that you can get in 5 yrs, vs the traditional 4yr BS followed by 2yr MS?

2) Why do you want to get your masters? The reason I ask, in my opinion as a manager and fomer recruiter, a MSCS has a tendency to make you over qualified for entry level positions and underqualified for most research positions (which typically require a PhD). During that those 2yrs pursuing a MS, you could be in the workforce earning $45k - $60k/yr, plus 2 yrs in to hitting that magical mark of 5yrs exp. Its just something to think about.