Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Aug 27, 2014 2:05 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: PC Repair
PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2005 11:11 am 

I really enjoy building computers and dealing with the hardware, what would be a good route to make that a career? I'm a police officer right now, but I'm looking to change careers.

Post subject: Re: PC Repair
PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2005 8:02 pm 
Team Member
Team Member

Location: Defragging brain. Sector 25642401. Percent complete: 01000000%. 64-bit me.
JD50 wrote:
I really enjoy building computers and dealing with the hardware, what would be a good route to make that a career? I'm a police officer right now, but I'm looking to change careers.

If you really enjoy it, of course. I have my A+ certification which I obtained at the age of 17 last year. I've graduated from the Cisco Networking Academy early this year before I graduated from high school. I currently have a position waiting for me in the networking field with a salary starting at $38,000 a year. That's with only a high school diploma, a certification and a credible Cisco training program.

Networking is where it's at. If you want big bucks, get into network security for big companies. If you go solo in your career path, you can usually charge large sums of money per hour. I charge $35/hour when I do a service job for basic computer maintenance, network setup and what not. That's cheap. Normally techs charge $60/hour and some with Microsoft certifications get $175/hour. Get the experience under your belt and you'll be ready to go. Find someone out there that you know that has a position in a company that needs be filled, and you have your foot already in the door.

Be a tech. It's a good 'ol time. We aren't always respected until something drastic happens. Then you have people bowing before you. You are their savior. Too bad we can't wallow in it. It turns people off when you make them out to be the idiots.

:D

Post subject: