Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Oct 01, 2014 11:05 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Slowing an Athlon64
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 9:15 pm 

Athlon64 3800+; Asus A8nE; WinXpProSr2

Strange as this may sound, I need to slow down my CPU. I am a programmer using an old hardware emulator communicating with its IDE over the parallel port. The emulator cannot keep up with the rate that the port is transferring data. (The port is on the PCI bus, rather than the ISA bus, and I imagine that is part of the problem.) I've tried some of the software programs that slow down games, but they work in bursts, and so once port accesses begin, they tend to continue at full speed even though the IDE is crawling.

I am thinking that disabling the L1 and L2 caches might help, but I have no idea how. Any tips, ideas, or other suggestions would be appreciated.

Howard Delman

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 1:15 am 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred

IF you want to under clock your cpu you can just lower down the multiplier but im not sure this will accomplish what you are trying to do,then again i really don't understand anything about serial or parallel ports.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 3:30 am 
Team Member
Team Member

I would think that a combination of lowering the CPU frequency by the method described above, and lowering the front side bus frequency would be a good bet. The CPU communicates with the northbridge and southbridge over the FSB, so lowering the frequency should cut the speed or bandwidth available, and might work to slow down the rest of your system to where you want to be. Whatever you do, be careful that you don't fry your machine. I'd suggest small incremental changes.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 9:48 am 

Thanks to you both for your ideas. I think slowing both the CPU and the FSB would really help to stretch out the port accesses, but I have no idea how to do either. Can you provide more details?