Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Jul 30, 2014 2:28 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Question about turning one PC into Two PC's
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:26 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 11:29 pm
Posts: 27
Hi All,

Basically what I want to do is buy a new monitor, but be able to control each monitor with their very own mouse and keyboard.... All being controlled by one PC. Hope that wasn't to confusing.

I came across this while doing a google search:

http://www2.userful.com/products/userful-multiplier

but it seems to be for Linux and I only have Windows XP Professional.

Anyone have any experience in doing this? I don't just want a dual monitor setup.

Thank you all for any help that you can give!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:28 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 3:56 pm
Posts: 81
Well if you can forgo the two sets of keyboards and mice, you can connect 2 monitors and set them up as one giant desktop, and while you're gaming and what-not, you can also answer to IMs, type up e-mail when you aren't doing anything in a game. I can't help you for anything other then that.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 10:51 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 10:20 pm
Posts: 4
do you want to extend your desktop or control 2 computers like an extend desktop.... ?

Synergy helps you use multiple computer like extended desktop... and it works with Win, OsX, Linux at the same time !


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 7:00 am 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 9:29 am
Posts: 1105
This sounds like a kvm switch... but backward...

VIRTUAL PC!

give 'er a go, but i don't know if it'll do what you want.

or go to ebay and buy a low end 150$ pc and use that for linux


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: What he said
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:29 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 6:10 am
Posts: 1
Like Denis said, use Virtual PC. It's free from Microsoft, and you can load any OS you want in the virtual machine. Downside, you still only have a single KB and mouse.

The only other option would be to build 2 PC's into a single case. hmmmm :?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:36 am 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 9:29 am
Posts: 1105
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/ ... CatId=3509

BAM!! apparently this is exactly what you need... for a price, we used them at staples as workstations :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2008 8:05 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 3:20 pm
Posts: 52
YaY! Thin Clients!
We use WYSE here at my work for our thin clients, I think specifically, the Unit is called the WinTerm.

I'm not sure about Denis63's Thin client, but I can tell you that for ours are totally dependant on the host (server) for everything, hence your limited by how much Data your ethernet connection can pump out.

In practice - it works, but just not very fast. Resizing windows is like a slide show, for example. I would imagine that anything intense - Like games - is pretty much out of the picture for the Thin client - they are business oriented for tasks that don't require the power of a full PC.


-edit - Come to think of it, since its essentially a Terminal - would you need some special software/setup at the server end to handle the Thin client? I have no idea what the server end looks like or how its setup...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2008 1:30 pm 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 9:29 am
Posts: 1105
they are VERY slow, well ours were at staples, i blamed it on the shitty software they used, but i guess they're slow anyway.

and yes, gaming would be out of the question on one of these, but linux should be okay, yeah?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 4:39 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 3:20 pm
Posts: 52
oh yeah :-)

We run Windows "XP" on ours. Since is all done on a Server, its actually Windows CE (atleast one person in Microsoft had a sense of humor when naming the thing - WINCE, hehe), but I get an XP desktop everytime I log in. Its actually kinda nice, lol.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group