Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:09 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: XBOX question
PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 8:55 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 7:02 pm
Posts: 890
Location: Darkroom
is it possible to put a raptor in a XBOX?
and if it is would it show any performance gains?
i just thought it would be cool to be like, hey i got a raptor in my XBOX.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2004 12:33 am 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 4:46 pm
Posts: 858
i personly dobout it because i think it requires certan drivers but if you could ud need a plug to convert Pata to Sata and they do have em,


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2004 6:01 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 7:02 pm
Posts: 890
Location: Darkroom
yea i knew i needed a SATA adapter but also i was worried about the whole heat issue. though i figured if i really wanted to i could just keep the top off.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2004 1:45 pm 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 4:46 pm
Posts: 858
if u can get around the Sata deal with it, my recumenation is get a vantec hard drive cooler (mite need to do some modding, and that should keep temps down,


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 11:57 pm 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 12:36 pm
Posts: 2208
Location: Baltimore City, MD, USA ... *does windmills around the moshpit*
I have a feeling it's going to be a tight squeeze to fit a HDD cooler around it and then securely fasten it to the case. It sits in the stand above the mobo so if you crafted a custom stand you could use the existing holes at the bottom. The IDE cable still has to be able to fold over the top and reach the other side so that could make it tricky. If you try it be sure to take a couple pictures cause i'd love to shove a Raptor in mine.

Another option would be a 16mb cache drive of 200+ GB. They dont heat up so much and the xbox should be able to use that big cache.

-Gweedo


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 2:06 pm 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 12:14 pm
Posts: 4956
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
It could probably work, just clone the data from the old drive to the new and stick it in.... But I really don't know how much of a performance gain it would give you unless you have Linux or something on it...


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.