Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Apr 16, 2014 4:50 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Project: Framed - 4PC Test System
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 2:35 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 11:29 am
Posts: 931
Location: IL
Here's something I've wanted to do for a long time. I'm working on a 4 PC system test machine. I will be putting 4 complete computer systems in one case. There will be a complete AMD XP and X2 dual core system, also there will be a complete P4 and Intel Core Duo system. Each will have their own Hard Drive, PSU and power button. They will all be able to use one LCD mounted on top. I will just need to adjust the plugs on the back and boot up the system I want to use. Obviously no normal case can hold this many parts so I will be using an organizer I recently bought.
Here's kinda what it'll look like

Image

First I have to cut these off:

Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 3:27 pm 
Team Creamsicles
Team Creamsicles
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 7:06 pm
Posts: 3702
Location: Pennsylvania
That sounds like an awesome idea and since it's coming from you, I'm sure that it WILL be awesome :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 3:40 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 11:29 am
Posts: 931
Location: IL
Update: All 4 PC's will use the same keyboard, mouse and monitor via a KVM switch


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 6:27 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 11:29 am
Posts: 931
Location: IL
So begins the fun!

Image

That was easy

Image

And they're off!

Image

Then comes the plexi fitting.

Image

Image

There's one side. I attached it with rivets.

Image

Image

I'll wait to attach the other side till later. I first need to mount the components on plexi "drawers" and slide them in. At the end I will attach the other side panel with screws.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 8:44 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 11:29 am
Posts: 931
Location: IL
I found this old topper to my Mother-Bored PC to help with my intake.

Image

I slid it into the bottom and since cold air settles on the bottom it'll be a primo place to have air sucked up and in.

Image

Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2008 7:00 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 11:29 am
Posts: 931
Location: IL
Here's the part list:

I'm using the Athlon 64 X2 BE-2300 which runs at 1.9GHz and uses only 45 Watts and not the normal 65 watts. The motherboard is AM2 and AM2+ compatible.

I don't have the dual Core Intel system yet.

For AMD single core, I think I have the 2800+, but I'll have to check

The Intel single core will be a Pentium 4 running at 1.7GHz

All the computers will have their own power supplies, DVD drives, hard drives (Windows XP Pro) and 1 Gig of memory. As of now I will be using onboard video and sound, but that might change later. On Monday or Tuesday I'm going to Lowes to have the real thick plexi cut out for me for each of the landings.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2008 1:06 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 2:55 pm
Posts: 1491
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
cool idea. so far the case looks like a piece of furniture. I don't know why, but it just looks like it to me.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2008 6:08 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 11:29 am
Posts: 931
Location: IL
Alright, the Intel dual core will be a plain jane E2140. That's all I actually need anyway.

Here's a rough idea of the front.

Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 10:04 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 11:29 am
Posts: 931
Location: IL
I got the plexi today, the real thick stuff. So thick, that Lowes was unable to cut it for me.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 12:48 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 11:29 am
Posts: 931
Location: IL
So here's the plexi and my how I'll cut it tonight.

Image

I'll use which ever works. I'm waiting for the other mobo's to arrive.

Image

Image

Here's the RAM for the dual core mobo's, 2 sticks, 1GB each

Image

And the RAM for the single core Mobo's, 2 sticks for each, 1GB total

Image

I have lots of drives available

Image

And lots of PSU's

Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 1:22 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 11:29 am
Posts: 931
Location: IL
Has anyone installed XP on an external drive before? I'm thing of using an external drive on my Framed project, so when I boot up what ever system I'm using, I could just plug in the external drive. Also, would this not be a good idea because of all the different motherboards and their individual drivers?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 7:13 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 11:29 am
Posts: 931
Location: IL
So it took a good half hour, but I got it all cut out. The blue is the plastic covering which will be coming off.

Image

Image

A little problem arose.....

A standard ATX mobo will NOT fit, even on the widest part. I'll have to use all MATX boards. I hope they fit on the smaller parts though.

Image

Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2008 10:56 am 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 1:44 pm
Posts: 1477
Location: tfdyhjn
damit thats a close squeeze :? hope everything works out for ya!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2008 1:17 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 11:29 am
Posts: 931
Location: IL
My Dual Core AMD board arrived. It's MATX and fits on the smallest section. So the good news is, they'll all fit!

Image

Image

Just Perfect

Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2008 5:11 am 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 2:55 pm
Posts: 1491
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
let me guess it's an ECS board. how good are those boards? like 50% of the people who buy those have problems with it. I interested into buying a ECS board because of it's low price, but quality is what concerns me. :?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2008 3:39 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 11:29 am
Posts: 931
Location: IL
They used to bother me too, but they have come a long way since the old days. I have had $200 boards die faster than ECS. My current main rig has an ECS board that I've had no problems with.

My Single Core P4 arrived today.

Image

I haven't put the stand offs in yet. I'm waiting till I have all of the boards and am sure of their placement.

Image

Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2008 12:52 pm 
I'd rather be modding!
I'd rather be modding!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:47 pm
Posts: 3731
Location: Las Vegas
I've been wanting to do this for years - and so has CHumly. Good to see someone giving it a shot.

The only thing you are missing is a Mac setup :)

If you have any problems after the initial build, let me know. I has some nice ideas for integration.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2008 2:31 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 1:44 pm
Posts: 1477
Location: tfdyhjn
MantaBase wrote:
I've been wanting to do this for years - and so has CHumly. Good to see someone giving it a shot.

The only thing you are missing is a Wonderful Sinclair setup :)

If you have any problems after the initial build, let me know. I has some nice ideas for integration.


The Manta fixed your post :) You're welcome.[/i]


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 1:30 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 11:29 am
Posts: 931
Location: IL
Finally, All of my systems are here!

Image

Image

First I have to mount the PSU's, then I'll get the standoffs in place.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 4:11 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 11:29 am
Posts: 931
Location: IL
I know all the systems run, but I haven't actually hooked them up to a monitor to see if they post. Hopefully, there will be no unexpected surprises.

Also, I'm going to be adding the PSU's too. I will cut off all wires I am not using. I'll keep the Motherboard cable, 12V (when necessary), and probably just one molex line with at least 2 connectors on it.

The I/O plates will be lined up and connected to small sheets of aluminum that will cover up all non-essential back plate areas. I will probably leave the PCIE/AGP slots open to add cards for future testing needs. The actual systems will be using onboard audio and video.

So, tonight I will install the standoffs and at least prep the back areas.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group