Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 4:30 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Water cooling
PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 8:39 pm 

I am thinking about moving into the world of water cooling my CPU. I have no experience in water cooling so I dont know which company, or product for that matter, is the best. I have been reading reviews from toms and harocp and have been getting mixed opinions; just looking for some first-hand know-how into the subject and what you think is a good route to take.

Thanks

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 5:23 am 
Professional Dork
Professional Dork

DangerDen RBX water block (I can't say which cause I don't know what CPU you have):
Athlon 64
Socket478
Socket A

Swiftech Pump (I have an older model of this same pump)

Radiator

Then some hoses, a reservoir and clamps. Oh, and water and coolant additive. And for the love of pete, go to your hardware store and get real metal clamps that you screw on. Don't fuck around with cheap plastic clamps.

The reservoir is optional, some people say not to use one, others swear by it. I personally use one because it simplifies things.

I have the above setup with the P4 block and I have my 2.4C at 3.2 right now and it's rock solid stable.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 6:18 am 
Team Member
Team Member

Can you explain or post a link to a site that explains exactly how water cooling works? I just don't have experience in this aspectand would like to start, and maybe make my own, home made(is that possible?)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 6:59 am 
Professional Dork
Professional Dork

Water cooling uses water instead of air to cool the processor (and/or the chipset and/or the GPU). The water block takes the place of the heatsink. Then you set up a system for the water to flow in. The water flows from a pump into a radiator, which cools the water, then into the water block. From the water block(s) it goes to the erservoir if you have one.