Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:13 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 2 PSUs
PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 7:45 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 18
Location: a dark, dark, room
sorry I haven't posted in a while... My hard drive failed and I was too lazy ot get a new one. lol. I was wondering if anyone thought this was a stupid idea, or if they had any thoughts at all...

My Graphic card was complaining that it didn't have enough power even though it only needed 300 of my 450, so I came up with an idea. I have 2 PSUs powering my system! I have 1 dedicated to my core components, and the other dedicated to all my mods/lights/accesories. is this safe? I didn't see anythign wrong because it is a completely different system so to speak that is powering the lights, and there are no parts hooked up to that one because I dont want ot have parts powerd up while the motherboard is down. is there anythign that I missed?

Jason


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 8:46 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:56 am
Posts: 1076
Location: Powder Springs, GA
should be no problem at all, i was planning on doing the same thing.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 6:40 am 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 7:33 am
Posts: 258
Location: Living in Guild Wars
oh yeah, lots of people have put 2 psu's in their pcs before. it shouldn't give you any trouble (as far as i can tell anyways).
good luck!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 6:48 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 4:00 pm
Posts: 18
Location: a dark, dark, room
thanks for the feedback. I haven't heard of many people doing it before so I wasn't sure if I was just missing anything stupid.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 7:29 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2004 12:14 pm
Posts: 999
Location: NASJRB New Orleans
did you just mod the wires so that you don't need the mobo power connector?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 10:57 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
I was sitting here trying to figure out how a 2nd PS would help your hard drive problem. DOH!

Ya, sure it'll work. I have an adapter for the CMstacker if ya need it. I had planned on using 2 PSU's, but my reservoir I've build is now in the lower PS mount, so I'm thinking of sticking with this config. Cleaner anyway.

The only trick is this adapter that snoops the turn on signal from the other PS. Then just run the periphials off #2. I was planning on running the HPPS pump, Video card, and the fans off a little fanless PS. You could subsitute the opticals or HDDs in the place where I had planed a pump. Having the opticals and HDD's on different PS's sure wouldn't hurt. Anway...totally doable.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 7:26 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
i have 2 psu's running right now(makeshift). i have two old beaters since my antec just failed. lmao, i have a powercord going in through a floppy slot to poser the second one. but i have mobo and primary HD and vid card on one and then the other hd's, opticals and fans on the other. i cant wait till my truepower 550 comes :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2005 12:05 pm 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:10 am
Posts: 1839
Location: Left Coast
gramaton cleric wrote:
i have 2 psu's running right now(makeshift). i have two old beaters since my antec just failed. lmao, i have a powercord going in through a floppy slot to poser the second one. but i have mobo and primary HD and vid card on one and then the other hd's, opticals and fans on the other. i cant wait till my truepower 550 comes :D


I was just reading in another forum where they suggested putting your MOBO, video card, and fans on the same PSU. Reason is that if the secondary PSU with fans quits... your MOBO and video card will fry if the fans are on the secondary PSU.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2005 2:33 pm 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 2:05 pm
Posts: 1739
Location: howell, mi
I think the computer will crash before a total melt down..but then again..


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2005 8:32 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 2:53 pm
Posts: 225
i was considering doing this but i would do it more for the sake keeping wiring neat instead of more power. if u need more power, get a stronger PSU. u add a second one to get wires neatley into the deps and crevaces in the bottom of a case...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 5:11 am 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
I like the thought of redundant power supplies myself. PC power & Cooling (that's the only fregg'n time I EVER use the stupid "&" key!) used to sell them, but doesn't look like the do anymore. If one failed, the other would pop on. Like this dual-400W one


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 12:18 pm 
Smithfield*
Smithfield*
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 7159
Location: In HyperTransport
redundant PSU's are still made for servers and such. they're not really usefull for desktops, they provide security, not extra power.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 12:21 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 1:04 pm
Posts: 131
Chumly wrote:
I like the thought of redundant power supplies myself. PC power & Cooling (that's the only fregg'n time I EVER use the stupid "&" key!) used to sell them, but doesn't look like the do anymore. If one failed, the other would pop on. Like this dual-400W one


Hey Chumly... You just used the "&" key to tell us that was the only time you used the "&" key, thus falsifying the statement the you only use the "&" for the name "PC Power & Cooling". I feel ornery today :D

Arquero


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 8:50 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2004 12:14 pm
Posts: 999
Location: NASJRB New Orleans
Arquero wrote:
Chumly wrote:
I like the thought of redundant power supplies myself. PC power & Cooling (that's the only fregg'n time I EVER use the stupid "&" key!) used to sell them, but doesn't look like the do anymore. If one failed, the other would pop on. Like this dual-400W one


Hey Chumly... You just used the "&" key to tell us that was the only time you used the "&" key, thus falsifying the statement the you only use the "&" for the name "PC Power & Cooling". I feel ornery today :D

Arquero


only thing is though, he put quotes around it, so... that means he only theoretically "used" it once.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group