Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Jul 28, 2014 11:50 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: psu mod help
PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2011 12:22 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:32 am
Posts: 83
so im doing a custom build using a 1:4th scale RC car and a pc but ran into sort of a snag. the rc car with all the pc parts in it doesnt have room for a psu. now normally if this was for me it wouldn't be a big deal id just put on on the desk beside it wire it up and call it a day. only thing is this isn't for me so i dont want to do that. now i thought maybe what i could do is build a sorta roof rack/storage container on top the car and toss it in there minus its shell. anyone have any idea's

this is build parts.
1x DVD Burner @ $24.99
1x Hard Drive @ $44.99
1x CPU @ $69.99
1x Mobo @ $46.99
2x Ram @ $31.98
1x 1:4 scale RC Car

please note this is not for a customer whos a heavy gamer or anything like that and usely only checks there email and facebook once a day so having high end parts is not needed

any one could suggest a decent but cheap psu that will be sufficent for this build and possibily any ideas on how to incorp it into the build would be helpful thanks

P.S i also though about doing a pull behind trailer but only it would be in the way as all the hookups are in the back of the car.
P.S.S reason for using external dvd drive is its gonna be put in the nose of the car and needs to be small as the hard drive will mount above it.

*update mobo link fixed


Last edited by dethdeks on Thu Feb 17, 2011 9:50 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: psu mod help
PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:25 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:39 am
Posts: 1112
Location: On t3h h1gh s3@z, fly1n m@h fr3@k fl@g!
You need to fix the mobo link, it's the same as the cpu link ;). Anyhoo, why not, since it's never gna be used as an r/c car, put the psu below it, in a stand/base, like a display stand?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: psu mod help
PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 9:40 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:32 am
Posts: 83
hmm thats a good idea. and will fix the link


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: psu mod help
PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:00 pm 
I'd rather be modding!
I'd rather be modding!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:47 pm
Posts: 3731
Location: Las Vegas
Well, why not use a laptop MB and low(er) power stuff. Then you can use a laptop PSU and a brick.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: psu mod help
PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:06 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:39 am
Posts: 1112
Location: On t3h h1gh s3@z, fly1n m@h fr3@k fl@g!
I also have another valid inquiry: how in the heck does all that NOT fit into a 1:4 Scale RC car? Those things are friggin huge. You could put 2 PC's in 1 of those if u really wanted to.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: psu mod help
PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:50 am 
Team Member Top 50
Team Member Top 50
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 1:05 am
Posts: 2437
Location: Sold my soul to Satchboy for an avatar
I was given an HP "slimline" system for parts from a friend. The PSU in that was not standard ATX. It's something like 1"x3", but about twice as long. Maybe you could find something like that to fit?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: psu mod help
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 8:38 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:32 am
Posts: 83
@mantabase i thought about doing that but there isnt to much upgradabilty with laptop hardware and i kinda want to be able to upgrade it if i want to.

@pm_dmnklr i believe the measurements for a 1:4th scale rc car is 2 feet long by 8-10 inchs wide by 8 inchs tall (i could be mistaken). the measurements on the mobo its self is 6.7" x 6.7"

@bbies1973 i thought about doing that as well but am trying to think of how i could incorporate it into the build as well.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: psu mod help
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 9:11 am 
I'd rather be modding!
I'd rather be modding!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:47 pm
Posts: 3731
Location: Las Vegas
dethdeks wrote:

@pm_dmnklr i believe the measurements for a 1:4th scale rc car is 2 feet long by 8-10 inchs wide by 8 inchs tall (i could be mistaken). the measurements on the mobo its self is 6.7" x 6.7"


That's 1/8 or 1/10 scale - maybe even 1:14. Unless of course it's a 1:4 scale VW Bug. :) Quarter scale is 3-4 feet long - basically the size of a pedal car.

Anyways - really neither here nor there - the PSU won't fit is the issue. Can the car have a trailer? Can the PSU sit on the floor and just plug in from behind? You coupld put PSU headers on it and have the PSU about 2 feet away hidden.

Hmmm....anyways, it would be cool if the hood lifted and you could see some inards.

Look here: http://www.directron.com/matxps.html

You might be able to piggyback 2 of the smaller units.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: psu mod help
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 10:17 am 
8086
8086

Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:32 am
Posts: 83
i would use the hood to do that but i was actually hoping to use the nose of the car for the dvdrom/hdd was gonna hide it into the grill of the car.

the base vehicle ill be using will be is an austin mini. and hmm on size im sure the one i saw was a 1:4th scale but i could be mistaken. it may have been a 1:10th even 1:12th but non the less the more room i have the better. as for the trailer i was thinking that my self but only down fall is i was gonna have all the cables ie kb, mouse, monitor all run out the back.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: psu mod help
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 2:25 pm 
Willamette
Willamette
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:39 am
Posts: 1112
Location: On t3h h1gh s3@z, fly1n m@h fr3@k fl@g!
Well for measurement purposes, it's definitely best to know the real scale, as to know what we're dealing with here. If the unit you're using IS 24" x 8-10", and 8" tall, you need to measure for internal space as well. Also, if it is that measurement set, it's not 1:4, like was discussed. Anyway, get us the measurements and it will definitely help a ton. Also, have you given thought to using one of the smaller PSU's? You can get a decent one, they do exist.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group