Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Aug 22, 2014 5:55 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Must...uncluter...cables!
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 6:43 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:11 am
Posts: 1681
Dah, my cable management isn't horrible, but it still sucks. I'd like some opinions on what I can do to clean all the cables up. My PSU isn't modular, so everything that I don't use, I shove in the bottom of the HDD bay.

Image

Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 7:15 pm 
Million Club - 20 Plus
Million Club - 20 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 5:32 am
Posts: 4294
What case is that?





Ted


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 7:22 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:11 am
Posts: 1681
Tedster wrote:
What case is that?





Ted


HAF 932


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 7:46 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 10:10 am
Posts: 169
If you have enough room behind the mobo tray and the right hand side panel, you could cut in some holes to route the cables back there. :idea:


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 4:06 am 
SON OF A GUN
SON OF A GUN
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 5:41 am
Posts: 11605
You be breaking tables mah friend!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:24 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:11 am
Posts: 1681
I'm not sure that my front audio cable can be routed in the back as the port is right above the PCI-E x16 slot.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 10:38 am 
Million Club [PC]
Million Club [PC]
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 11:38 am
Posts: 7690
you should be able to route it straight up and then through the hole you're routing the CPU power connector. That will look much cleaner.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 11:19 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:11 am
Posts: 1681
Spartacus wrote:
you should be able to route it straight up and then through the hole you're routing the CPU power connector. That will look much cleaner.


Oh, so route it behind the V8? I hope it can reach that far. Any sleeving that would be helpful?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:35 pm 
Million Club [PC]
Million Club [PC]
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 11:38 am
Posts: 7690
Yeah I meant to the left of the V8. If the cable doesn't reach you can buy an extension from Performance-PCs
You can use split pipe tubing. I used it on my rig, worked great:
Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 2:19 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:11 am
Posts: 1681
Where you you get your tubing? I ain't paying $7.45 shipping to $4 of stuff. :?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:30 pm 
Million Club [PC]
Million Club [PC]
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 11:38 am
Posts: 7690
I got mine at Home Depot. You can also buy it at Lowe's or True Value, and basically any hardware store.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:36 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:11 am
Posts: 1681
Where can I hide those annoying unused PSU cables?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 4:11 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
The picture shows a fine solution. Nothing's broke, don't fix it. It's far from horrible as you stated.

The stuff is dusty, and showing some other concerns though. If the outside is dusty, think of the guts too. Weird 24-pin hanging out there too. Can you just cut that crap off?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 4:49 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:11 am
Posts: 1681
Chumly wrote:
The picture shows a fine solution. Nothing's broke, don't fix it. It's far from horrible as you stated.

The stuff is dusty, and showing some other concerns though. If the outside is dusty, think of the guts too. Weird 24-pin hanging out there too. Can you just cut that crap off?


Actually, that's an extender. It wouldn't go all the way by routing through the back. Oh well, I can wait until this one dies, then I can just get a modular one!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:59 am 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 3:18 am
Posts: 1917
Image

I used braiding and hid the rest of the cables behind the mobo tray looks allright i think :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 03, 2010 8:15 am 
Team Member Top 250
Team Member Top 250
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Posts: 1156
Make your computer look like this


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:18 pm 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:11 am
Posts: 1681
Went to the home Depot, found absolutely nothing. Meh, looks like I'll be getting this stuff from Crazy PC. Do I need this heatshrink stuff, and if so, how do I put it on?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2010 12:27 am 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 3:18 am
Posts: 1917
HellFighter wrote:
Went to the home Depot, found absolutely nothing. Meh, looks like I'll be getting this stuff from Crazy PC. Do I need this heatshrink stuff, and if so, how do I put it on?


If you want ot braid you cables yes you do,its pretty easy heres a link to a great guide on XS forums.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/sho ... p?t=202639


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2010 7:31 am 
Team Member Top 500
Team Member Top 500
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:11 am
Posts: 1681
What I'm wondering is do I really need to remove the connectors to sleeve? The guides refer to Molex connector, which are huge, but mine aren't that huge.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2010 7:39 am 
Million Club [PC]
Million Club [PC]
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 11:38 am
Posts: 7690
yeah. It's impossible to get the sleeve on without removing the connector, unfortunately. Unless you use a huge sleeve, which looks like crap.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group