Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 2:08 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: cool power switch idea
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 6:40 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 3:50 pm
Posts: 1344
Location: Illinois
Heres my idea let me know what you think and if it will work:
My computer is on my desk at the other end of my bedroom(i have a long skinny room). My idea is to splice into the wires going form the mobo to the power button on the case and connect them to a button near my light switch on the wall in the entrance to my room. I plan on leaving the case button working so i can turn it on from the case too.

Heres why i want it:
so when i come home from work or school i can turn it on when i walkin the room and i can change clothes and when i go to sit down at my desk its allready booted and going.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 7:39 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:51 pm
Posts: 844
http://www.trianglecables.com/atxcaspusbut.html

buy a $4 switch and some wire and find out =)

believe it might just be crazy enough to work...or you could turn on light walk over push button come back :D :D :D :D :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:43 am 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 4:46 pm
Posts: 858
good idea, but im thinking it mite me a problem but im not sure, i know when i push the power button on my gateway rustbox, press it once and w2k shuts down, but only in like 2 seconds as opposed to the standard miniute it usualy takes, so what im thinking is if u did that it mite work but if it were to shut down like that then stuff wouldnt save, like settings and so forth, u mite think what does the computer need to save b4 it shuts down well it can agrivate u after long when stuff you modiys is unmodifyed and stuff

i dunno what the setup may be, u mite need to make it so flipping the swich activates a normal shutdown sequence, or basicly have a setup in the old AT mobos, where u shut down but then ud get a screen saying "it is now safe to turn your computer off" screen we all remeber that

but im not sure onto what the situation is


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 1:07 am 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24345
Location: South of heaven
Clap on, Clap off...

Seriously, I'm not digging it. It'll function, but it's a lot of work to get out of a couple steps in your day. And to get it looking good (I would in my own home's structure!), it'll be permanent.

And..
Quote:
when i push the power button on my gateway rustbox, press it once and w2k shuts down, but only in like 2 seconds as opposed to the standard miniute it usualy takes
That's Hibernating / Sleep Mode.

Leave it on Folding all day. Nothing wrong with that at all. Just have the monitor go to sleep.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 8:30 am 
Team Member
Team Member

Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 4:46 pm
Posts: 858
Chumly wrote:
Clap on, Clap off...

Seriously, I'm not digging it. It'll function, but it's a lot of work to get out of a couple steps in your day. And to get it looking good (I would in my own home's structure!), it'll be permanent.

And..
Quote:
when i push the power button on my gateway rustbox, press it once and w2k shuts down, but only in like 2 seconds as opposed to the standard miniute it usualy takes
That's Hibernating / Sleep Mode.

Leave it on Folding all day. Nothing wrong with that at all. Just have the monitor go to sleep.


it acualy turns the computer off, i dont think its hibernating because ive never seen any indications of it saying that it is going into hibernation mode


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cool power switch idea
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 10:08 am 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:10 am
Posts: 1839
Location: Left Coast
sflshooter wrote:
Heres my idea let me know what you think and if it will work:
My computer is on my desk at the other end of my bedroom(i have a long skinny room). My idea is to splice into the wires going form the mobo to the power button on the case and connect them to a button near my light switch on the wall in the entrance to my room. I plan on leaving the case button working so i can turn it on from the case too.

Heres why i want it:
so when i come home from work or school i can turn it on when i walkin the room and i can change clothes and when i go to sit down at my desk its allready booted and going.


It will work. Get a doorbell button from HomeDepot or Lowe's and some #24-26 white speaker wire.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.