Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Fri Nov 21, 2014 2:42 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Wavemaster cooling problem
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 6:32 pm 

After much debating, I finally decided to get a CM Wavemaster case for my new comp. I know that this case has problems with cooling, so I was wondering how I would install a second 80mm fan directly above or below the rear outtake fan and/or a bottom intake/outake fan. Which would be better? Which would be easier? Which makes more sense? Thank you in advanced for the input!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 8:10 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

I am not sure what you are saying here. I have a Wave Master and have no trouble what so ever cooling the case. I even removed the 2 front 80mm fans, although I do have 2 80mm fans mounted on the side panel.

I run the machine all day with only the fans on the CPU (a 80mm Hyper 6 cooling a Prescott 3.2), the video card (9800 Pro stock fan), the PSU (120mm CM Real Power 450W) and the rear 80mm exhaust fan. I cut venting/circulation holes in the bottom of the case, covering them with foam filter (same stuff dirt bikers use in their helmets and oil/air filters). The 2 fans on the side panel and one in the top panel stay off.

This machine also has 1GB RAM, 2 large HDDs, an optical drive and a number of LEDs, which all contribute higher temps.

On warm days or under stress, I turn the other 3 fans on too. It's still very quiet and I have never had any heat problems. Of course, I am not a gamer -- never play games -- so your mileage may vary.

If you really need to increase air flow, you can get fans that provide more CFM (cubic feet per minute). You might also want to consider water cooling as an alternative.

Grump, The Mad Modder

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:26 am