Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 2:39 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Can I use this for a power switch?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 6:36 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 7:02 pm
Posts: 890
Location: Darkroom
As the subject states.
SPST switch.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 6:43 pm 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 10:28 am
Posts: 163
Location: Houston
link dont work :D


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 8:02 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 7:02 pm
Posts: 890
Location: Darkroom
Sum bitch.
It works its just frozencpu just wants to hate me right now.
Ill get it fixed right quick.
Also could I use it as a switch for a test PSU?

Edit:
Link, its the one with the carbon cover, but blue LED not red.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:44 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
20A...more than enough. Jeez...that thing could hold a lot of duties at once if you wanted to.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can I use this for a power switch?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 12:54 am 
Little Foot
Little Foot

Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 7:52 am
Posts: 170
Location: Lafayette, Ca
filmbot wrote:
As the subject states.
SPST switch.


Image


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 6:47 am 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 7:02 pm
Posts: 890
Location: Darkroom
Chumly, how would I go about setting that up as my power switch?
Like what would I have to solder and can it only be used in a drive bay?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 7:39 am 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 12:14 pm
Posts: 4956
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Solder the two leads from the Mobo connector to two pins on the back, but make sure that the two pins oyu solder it to are two that form a closed curcuit when the switch is pressed, becuase some switches have more than one set of pins on the back for multiple devices. (there should be a wiring diagram on it so you're fine)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 8:26 am 
I'd rather be modding!
I'd rather be modding!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:47 pm
Posts: 3731
Location: Las Vegas
filmbot wrote:
Also could I use it as a switch for a test PSU?



Yeah - on the DC side of course.

When you are using the PSU without a MB - the flap will be up and the light on in the "armed" position.

If a MB is attached you would be in "safe" position.

Good choice - provided you wire it right - but it looks easy enough.

Manta


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 1:38 am 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
LINK!

Used 'em a lot in the service. IIRC, they were 1/2" (3/8"??) mounts, so anywhere you can drill a hole with enough clearance behind the panel for the actual switch...you can mount it.

"On" is with the switch cover and toggle up, so remember that if you bump the cover closed, the switch falls to the O-F-F position.

I wonder if these are the 3-position type with the uppermost being momentary? I liked those, but haven't seen many in the Civie world. Mainly just 2-way. Reason is that I like those functions, and could use one now. I only have a normal button now. I'd like to have an off function (for obvious reasons), then the middle "normal" position turns on a water pump, then the the temp up position actually starts the PC. Like a car does. The accesories come on first, then you start it.

I haven't perfected this process, and just have the HPPS pump turn on with everything else. But I treat the water in the PC as I do Oil in an engine mentally. It only makes sense to get it going first before you ask it to do anything. (and why hasn't the automakers thought of this? Every car starts dry! *shutters* scary. You pre-start turbines well in advance of the start cycle...another thread, another topic)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 6:17 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 7:02 pm
Posts: 890
Location: Darkroom
So should I just buy it and see what the specs on it are or can I tell if it has the right connectors to solder to.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 4:51 am 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:10 am
Posts: 1839
Location: Left Coast
Here are a couple of links to the company that makes them:
http://www.12vp.com/Item_Coyote_Table_Page.htm
http://www.12vp.com/item_rocker_switch_table.htm

Note these are all on-off switches... not momentary. They aren't suitable for use as a power switch for a PC with an ATX power supply.

Actually it would work, but operation would be a kluge. Flip switch on to turn PC on. Flip switch off and back on to turn PC off, then flip switch off.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 1:59 pm 
Clawhammer
Clawhammer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 12:14 pm
Posts: 4956
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
I used a toggle switch on one of my rigs, just had to flick it on then off, not much of an annoyance for how cool the switch looked. I'm going to see about using some Allison Bradley switches (the ones used on PLCs) o maybe a 3 position turnkey....


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 5:12 pm 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
Frank4d wrote:
...operation would be a kluge. Flip switch on to turn PC on. Flip switch off and back on to turn PC off, then flip switch off.
Negative Ghost Rider. Single Pole Single Throw (SPST) means you move it once to get to the only junction (pole). It's either contacted or it's not. The common light switch is SPST and I don't go through this dance to turn my lights on:D

http://www.kpsec.freeuk.com/components/switch.htm

What I'm searching for is a SPDT switch with only one closed position being momentary. I had hordes of these in the Navy, and should have kept a few! Now they're hard to find for me.

I'm also trying to find little TLI's (tank level indicators). They used these also on ship's tanks. A donut floated up a rod filled with reed switches. As the donut passed by a reed, it'd close and pass on which one it's at to show the fluid level. Done on a small scale, you could put one in a reservoir for cases without windows (like mine). One look at a display could show if you need water, or more importantly...if you have a leak by setting an alarm at, say, 85%.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 6:01 pm 
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 7:10 am
Posts: 1839
Location: Left Coast
Chumly wrote:
[quote="Frank4d...
What I'm searching for is a SPDT switch with only one closed position being momentary. I had hordes of these in the Navy, and should have kept a few! Now they're hard to find for me...


Look here. If Newark doesn't have it... it probably doesn't exist: http://www.newark.com/NewarkWebCommerce ... earch=true


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 7:49 pm 
I'd rather be modding!
I'd rather be modding!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:47 pm
Posts: 3731
Location: Las Vegas
Frank4d wrote:

Look here. If Newark doesn't have it... it probably doesn't exist: Please Condom your long Links :)


And Chumly - there must be those switches you want - after all what is a car ignition switch?

Manta


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 10:32 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:29 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Aiken,South Carolina
ok it looks like your looking for an off-on-mom switch or are you looking for more of an mom-center-mom il keep an eye open for both also check
http://www.mouser.com they may have it they also have lots of odd electronic stuff[/url]


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 3:57 am 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
Yup...thanks guys!

I've actually had a revelation after thinking of a card activated PC. I had thought of this when I was playing with cars, but brought it back to life recently. And it's more than likely even more possible 10 years after the thought...

A slot. A card. But the card in the slot, it turns on. Now, at a glance, it sounds difficult...unless you cheat it. Just make a slot and hide a big fat button behind it. Then it just LOOKS like it's a card reader.

But, um...I have a motorcycle PC. So, I guess I should just stick to an ignition switch:p Off to the motorcycle scrap heap again...


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:32 pm 
8086
8086

Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:29 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Aiken,South Carolina
hmm why not get a remote start switch that would be kinda nifty so you can keep a remote on your key ring


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 1:09 am 
Boy in Black
Boy in Black
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:40 pm
Posts: 24339
Location: South of heaven
Bulk I guess. From what I know from remotes, there's some parts I don't want added like relays and such. Good idea, but I'm not "feeling" it in my case. Too pimp :D

I like the idea of having a Honda key (which I dug up an ignition and old key to the RR)...but the thing is just big and bulky too. Oh well...I don't plan on turning it on and off too much anyway.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:31 pm 
Thunderbird
Thunderbird
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 7:02 pm
Posts: 890
Location: Darkroom
Chumly, thats a great idea with the card.
It seems pretty easy if you cheated and a lot of people would be impressed.
"Wow, is that like some type of secret technology or something?


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group