Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 4:50 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Websites overrun with banner ads. Can I block w/ HOSTS file?
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 7:38 am 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:37 am
Posts: 291
I'm not experiencing anything unusual with my laptop (Inspiron 5100) other than there's a hand full of websites (forums mostly) that I frequent regularly and are being over run with banner ads; to the point that it's almost intrusive to visit the forums. On my office PC at work I don't see the banners and on my home PC I don't see the banners. Just my laptop.


Last edited by BastardAle on Wed Aug 26, 2009 5:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 7:47 am 
Malware specialist
Malware specialist
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 12:49 pm
Posts: 11696
Location: Kansas City, KS
What kind of banner ads are they? What are they showing?

Are you using AdBlock Plus on any of the computers?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 7:55 am 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:37 am
Posts: 291
The one site in particular is a Mt. Bike forum for our local trails.


I don't have Ad Blocker running on my desktop PC but I don't know what my work has. IT security is a big thing at work so I wouldn't doubt if they had something extra running.

Otherwise does the log look okay?

I've ran AdBlockerPlus on my machines in the past and although they do block the ads the sites table structure is blown all to hell.


Last edited by BastardAle on Sun Jun 14, 2009 9:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 7:58 am 
Malware specialist
Malware specialist
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 12:49 pm
Posts: 11696
Location: Kansas City, KS
The log looks fine to me.

For that particular site, I do see quite a few banner ads on it. There are 3-4 that I see just from clicking the link and not navigating anywhere on the page.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 8:03 am 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:37 am
Posts: 291
okay, then it's the site that's got cooties not me.
I'm good with that.

Thanks for looking Hackman, you rock!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 5:14 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:37 am
Posts: 291
I'd like to give this thread a bump to see if there's any way I can block these banner ads with something other than AdBlocker. Adblocker just blocks the images, the tables are still blown out.

Can I block these through a HOSTS file or something? I read a bit about Blocklist PRO from BISS software. It's designed to block IP connections from numerous sites, and although I have not read into it too much, is this something that could potentially prevent these banners from appearing?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 5:15 pm 
Monkey Fed [PC]
Monkey Fed [PC]
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:53 pm
Posts: 7076
AdBlockPlus Element hiding helper. It's another addon for FF, and it works well for me. Right click on the "block", select AdblockPlus at the bottom, and the whole block should go away. Once you do this for the ads, the tables should be proper.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 5:38 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:37 am
Posts: 291
bigtoyota479 wrote:
AdBlockPlus Element hiding helper. It's another addon for FF, and it works well for me. Right click on the "block", select AdblockPlus at the bottom, and the whole block should go away. Once you do this for the ads, the tables should be proper.


Thanks for the suggestion, I'll try that in a minute. I'm just wondering how when I'm at work the site does not display the banners. My work is locked down and I can only use IE as a browser. Must be some sort of proxy thing?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 5:58 pm 
Klamath
Klamath

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:37 am
Posts: 291
Hmmm,
My tables are still blown out.

What options do IE users have? Ultimately I'd like to offer a suggestion on the forums so others can disable these ads also. Not everyone uses Firefox.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:36 pm 
Monkey Fed [PC]
Monkey Fed [PC]
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:53 pm
Posts: 7076
Ah. There was no mention of browser here, and by AdBlocker, I thought you meant AdBlockPlus, lol. I have no idea what IE can use. I haven't used it in years.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 7:30 pm 
Million Club - 2 Plus
Million Club - 2 Plus
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:44 am
Posts: 2681
Location: Up in you attic...Wi-Fi is delicious
The only thing I can think of that works relatively well for IE is, IE7Pro. (AFAIK, it will work with IE 8 :D )


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group