Quantcast

Maximum PC

It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 4:08 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: need help with new hdd format
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 7:03 am 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:45 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Missouri
i have an older pc that i want to set up as a simple file server sharing video and audio files accros my network My setup is as follows,
Windows Me
p3 800mhz
256 mb of ram
asus cusl2 motherboard
liteon 48x24x48 cdrw
generic floppy
Maxtor 45gbyte hdd drive set to primary ide channel

i added a brand new western digital special edition 80 gig hdd to the system on the secondary ide channel, slaved to liteon drive which is set as master

Bios sees the drive, and it is showing up in the device manager of Win Me under the disk drive section as ide type 80 but no dirve letter is being assigned.

Booting to dos, again i cannot find the drive to format it. How can I get this drive formated so I can use it?

tia


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 7:16 am 
Northwood
Northwood

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:38 pm
Posts: 2583
Location: Room112
i think its better to slave your WD hdd with your matrox hdd. do that and see if you get a drive letter assign.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 8:25 am 
Astro lube 2 the MAX!
Astro lube 2 the MAX!
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 762
Location: Newton, KS
do keymakers suggetion. then do the following


After doing that, get your boot disk, gointo DOS, fdisk your drive, setting up your partitions. Then do the format X: (replacing X with whatever drive letter it assigns.)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 9:02 am 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 568
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
run fdisk to make sure it is partitioned correctly. a format won't work if the drive is not partitioned.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 9:07 am 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:45 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Missouri
tanks all, ill try that in a little bit, wallpapering today hehehe :)


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 9:40 am 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:45 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Missouri
one other issue now, there is no legend for the maxtor master/slave pin configuration on the drive. below is the default config

IDE Connector : : : . : 4 pin power connector
^ ^
^ ^
jumpers
pin 1 and 6 have a jumper, along with pin 2 and 3. there is no pin 4

do i need to configure this differently with a slave hdd present?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 9:51 am 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:45 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Missouri
ok, found the jumper configs on there web site....


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 11:27 am 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:45 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Missouri
ok, update......made the requested changes. did not resolve the issue. cannot find drive from boot disk or in Windows. no drive letter. now ident as type 47 drive in device manager, same as primary master drive. any more suggestions?


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2004 12:34 pm 
Klamath
Klamath
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:45 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Missouri
got it formated via fdisk.....i didnt understand the scope of fdisk. works good, i made more out of it this simple issue than should have been :oops:

again thx all


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2004 4:33 pm 
Team Member
Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 568
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Rebel_Girl wrote:
got it formated via fdisk.....i didnt understand the scope of fdisk. works good, i made more out of it this simple issue than should have been :oops:

again thx all


fdisk partitions the drive, not formats it. you still need to format the drive, which you shold be able to do in windows.


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

© 2014 Future US, Inc. All rights reserved.